Iowa softball is built upon a tradition of winning

4 WCWS appearances • 16 NCAA Tournaments • 4 B1G Regular Season Titles • 2 B1G Tournament Titles


For over 20 years, the University of Iowa softball program was among the elite programs in the country, qualifying for 16 NCAA Tournament, making four Women’s College World Series appearances, winning two Big Ten tournament titles and four Big Ten regular season titles.


16 Hawkeyes have earned 30 All-America honors throughout the program’s history with the most recent being Brittany Weil in 2009. Diane Pohl, Debbie Bilbao, and Kristi Hanks have earned first-team All-America honors.

NFCA All-Region

40 Hawkeyes have earned a total of 78 NFCA All-Region honorees, including four-time honorees Kari Knopf and Terri McFarland.

All-Conference Awards

Three Hawkeyes — Terri McFarland (1990), Karen Jackson (1991), and Debbie Bilbao (1997) — have been named Big Ten Players of the Year, while Jackson (1994), Krista Hanks (2000, 2001), and Lisa Birocci (2003) were named Big Ten Pitchers of the Year.