Hawkeyes Crush Marquette, 6-1

Feb. 12, 2005

IOWA CITY, IA – The Iowa men’s tennis team defeated Marquette at home today at the Recreational Building, 6-1. With the victory the Hawkeyes remain unbeaten on the season at 4-0. Marquette drops to 3-3.

Iowa swept the doubles competition for the third time this season. The junior pair of Kyle Markham and Brett Taylor defeated Marquette’s Eigis Vedrickas and Troy Delmege (9-8 (6)) in the No. 1 spot. Junior Chaitu Malempati and freshman Bart van Monsjou defeated the pair of Brett Binkley and Pete Van Lieshout (8-6) at the No. 2 spot. In the No. 3 match freshman J.P. Ritchie and junior Aaron Schaechterle finished the sweep of doubles play by defeating Ian Kawas and Ricky Servoss (9-8 (5)). The pairs of Markham and Taylor and Schaechterle and Ritchie are both undefeated in doubles play during dual competition (4-0).

Iowa had impressive play in singles competition as well, winning five of the six matches. Junior Chaitu Malempati defeated Eigis Vedrickas at the No. 1 position (6-3, 6-2). Junior Kyle Markham won his match at the No. 2 position against Troy Delmege (6-3, 6-4). Freshman Bart van Monsjou defeated Brett Binkley (6-4, 6-2) at the No. 4 spot. At the No. 5 spot the Hawkeyes picked up a victory from sophomore Jonny Hoak. Hoak defeated Pete Van Lieshout (7-6 (5), 6-2). Junior Brett Taylor continued his good play by defeating Ricky Servoss in straight sets (6-2, 6-2). Taylor has yet to be defeated in dual play this season in both singles and doubles play (4-0).

Iowa will return to action tomorrow when they host Toledo at 10 a.m. at the Recreational Building. Admission to the event is free.


Marquette 1

No.1 Markham/Taylor (IOWA) def. Vedrickas/Delmege (MU) 9-8 (6)
No. 2 Malempati/van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Binkley/Van Lieshout (MU) 8-6
No. 3 Ritchie/Schaechterle (IOWA) def. Kawas/Servoss (MU) 9-8 (5)

No. 1 Chaitu Malempati (IOWA) def. Eigis Vedrickas (MU) 6-3, 6-2
No. 2 Kyle Markham (IOWA) def. Troy Delmege (MU) 6-3, 6-4
No. 3 Ian Kawas (MU) def. J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) 3-6, 7-6 (6), 10-4
No. 4 Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Brett Binkley 6-4, 6-2
No. 5 Jonny Hoak (IOWA) def. Pete Van Lieshout (MU) 7-6 (5), 6-2
No. 6 Brett Taylor (IOWA) def. Greg Sirotek (MU) 6-2, 6-2