Hawkeyes Defeat Drake, 6-1

March 2, 2005

IOWA CITY, IA – The Iowa men’s tennis team defeated Drake on Wednesday evening at the Recreation Building, 6-1. With the Hawkeye’s victory they move to 7-1 on the season. Drake falls to 2-4 in the loss.

The Hawkeyes won eight of the nine matches, which included a sweep of the doubles competition. The sweep of doubles play marks the fifth time this season the Hawkeyes have accomplished this feat. Junior Aaron Schaechterle and freshman J.P. Ritchie picked up a victory for the Hawkeyes at the No. 3 spot. Schaechterle and Ritchie defeated Jonathan Tishler and Matt McClure (8-5) to remain unbeaten on the season (8-0). Kyle Markham and Brett Taylor along with Chaitu Malempati and Bart van Monsjou also picked up victories in their doubles matches.

Junior Chaitu Malempati was victorious at the No. 1 spot in a very hard fought match with Drake’s Dalibor Pavic. Malempati improved to 6-2 on the season at the No. 1 position with his 7-5, 7-6 (2) victory. Junior Brett Taylor improved to 7-1 on the season with a victory at the No. 6 spot. Taylor defeated Chris Lueth in straight sets (6-1, 6-3).

“This evening’s victory was another good win for our team,” said Head Coach Steve Houghton. “Drake is a very solid program.”

Iowa will return to action this Saturday when it plays host to Wisconsin. The competition will mark the first Big Ten conference meet of the season for the Hawkeyes. Play will begin at 11 a.m. at the Recreation Building. Admission to the event is free.


Drake 1

No.1 Markham/Taylor (IOWA) def. Pavic/Frankowicz (DU) 8-5
No. 2 Malempati/van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Lueth/Iancu (DU) 8-3
No. 3 Ritchie/Schaechterle (IOWA) def. Tishler/McClure (DU) 8-5

No. 1 Chaitu Malempati (IOWA) def. Dalibor Pavic (DU) 7-5, 7-6 (2)
No. 2 Jonathan Tishler (DU) def. Kyle Markham (IOWA) 6-3, 6-0
No. 3 J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) def. Jack Frankowicz (DU) 6-4, 6-2
No. 4 Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Matt McClure (DU) 6-4, 6-2
No. 5 Jonny Hoak (IOWA) def. Dave Iancu (DU) 7-5, 6-2
No. 6 Brett Taylor (IOWA) def. Chris Lueth (DU) 6-1, 6-3