Hawkeyes Defeated By Drake, 5-2

March 1, 2006

Des Moines, IA – The University of Iowa men’s tennis team traveled to Des Moines Wednesday to face the Drake Bulldogs. Iowa lost the meet, 5-2.

In singles competition, sophomore Bart van Monsjou lost for only the second time this season. Playing in the No. 1 match, he was defeated by Sergi Vila, 3-6, 6-3, 6-3. At the No. 2 spot, freshman Christian Bierich was defeated by Maor Zirkin, 7-6, 7-5. Sophomore J.P. Ritchie was defeated in the No. 3 match by Dalibor Pavic, 6-2, 6-4. Senior Chaitu Malempati, playing in the No. 4 match, was defeated by Jonathan Tishler, 5-7, 6-2, 6-1. At the No. 5 spot, senior Brett Taylor gave the Hawkeyes their only singles victory of the night. He defeated Chris Lueth, 6-3, 6-1. Freshman Zach Frisch was defeated in the No. 6 match by Ivan Mendoza, 6-4, 6-1.

Iowa won two of three doubles matches. At the No. 1 spot, the team of Taylor and Ritchie was defeated by Zirkin and Pavic, 8-4. Malempati and van Monsjou paired to play the No. 2 doubles match and defeated Lueth and Mendoza, 8-5. In the No. 3 match, Bierich and senior Aaron Schaechterle teamed to beat Vila and Tishler, 9-8 (11-9).

“Drake is a very good team, as their record indicates,” said Head Coach Steve Houghton. “We were in a good position to win two or three close matches, but we didn’t finish them out. It was not a bad loss, but we missed the opportunity for a good win.”

With this loss, the Hawkeyes drop to 4-2. They will play again on Saturday when they open Big Ten competition by hosting Minnesota. The meet will start at 12 p.m. in the Recreational Building.


Drake 5
Iowa 2

No. 1 Sergi Vila (DU) def. Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) 3-6, 6-3, 6-3
No. 2 Maor Zirkin (DU) def. Christian Bierich (IOWA) 7-6, 7-5
No. 3 Dalibor Pavic (DU) def. J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) 6-2, 6-4
No. 4 Jonathan Tishler (DU) def. Chaitu Malempati (IOWA) 5-7, 6-2, 6-1
No. 5 Brett Taylor (IOWA) def. Chris Lueth (DU) 6-3, 6-1
No. 6 Ivan Mendoza (DU) def. Zach Frisch (IOWA) 6-4, 6-1

No. 1 Zirkin/ Pavic (DU) def. Taylor/Ritchie (IOWA) 8-4
No. 2 van Monsjou/Malempati (IOWA) def. Lueth/Mendoza (DU) 8-5
No. 3 Bierich/Aaron Schaechterle (IOWA) def. Vila/Tishler (DU) 9-8 (11-9)