Hawkeyes Look Toward Olympics

April 28, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – The United States national field hockey team has a history of being represented with many former University of Iowa athletes and this year is no different. The national team defeated Belgium last weekend at the qualifying tournament, 3-1 to earn its fifth Olympic berth. Former Hawkeye Barb Weinberg (2001-04) was one of two goalkeepers on the team.

Final selection for the Olympic team will take place in June, after the United States Field Hockey Association’s (USFHA) national championship tournament. Six Hawkeyes have played in previous Olympic Games; Kris Fillat (’96), Mary Koboldt (’88), Donna Lee (’88), Marcia Pankratz (’88, ’96), Liz Tchou (’96) and Andrea Wieland (’96). Former Hawkeye Sarah Dawson joins Weinberg as being eligible for selection to the 2008 Olympic team. They are both currently in the residency program at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA.

Last fall, Weinberg spent time as a volunteer assistant coach with the Hawkeyes. She helped the team achieve a record of 17-4, win a Big Ten tournament championship and earn a berth in the NCAA tournament. During her playing career at Iowa, Weinberg led the Hawkeyes in saves all four seasons while picking up numerous accolades. As a senior, she was a National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) first team all-America pick, a second team pick as a junior, a three-time regional all-American and a three-time first team all-Big Ten selection. She is one of only ten Hawkeyes to be named first team all-Big Ten at least three times.

Dawson donned the black and gold from 2001-04. As a senior she was an NFHCA first team all-America selection and a first team all-Big Ten selection. During her junior campaign, she was named second team all-Big Ten. Dawson led the Hawkeyes in goals (10) and points (23) as a freshman and goals (12), assists (10) and points (34) as a senior.

Weinberg and Dawson teamed-up to help the Hawkeyes to a co-Big Ten Conference championship in 2004.

Nine Hawkeyes were also selected to the USFHA’s Midwest Regional squad of 27. Athletes named were 2006 senior Heather Schnepf. Current Hawkeyes include juniors Caroline Blaum, Roz Ellis, Lauren Pfeiffer, Lissa Munley and Caitlin McCurdy, sophomores Tricia Dean, Meghan Beamesderfer and Jess Werley. Six regional teams will compete at the USFHA National Championship Tournament.

During the regional team’s next practice, May 9-11 at Grant Field, the squad of 27 will be trimmed to 18 and will compete in the national championship tournament, which features six regional teams. The tournament will be June 15-22 at Virginia Beach, VA. At the end of the tournament, athletes will be selected for the 2008 Olympic Team and the Junior National Team Camp. Weinberg and Dawson are eligible for the Olympic team while Dean, Beamesderfer and Werley are eligible for the Junior National Team Camp.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.