Three Hawkeyes Honored by Big Ten

May 19, 2009

IOWA CITY – Three University of Iowa baseball players were honored by the Big Ten Conference Tuesday. Ryan Durant was named first team all-Big Ten, while Justin Toole was named third team all-conference for the third consecutive year. On top of that, freshman catcher Dallas Burke was named to the all-freshman team. Toole was also Iowa’s baseball sportsmanship award honoree.

Durant, an outfielder from Eldridge, IA, earned first team laurels after hitting a team-high .370 which ranks sixth in the conference. He also laced a team-best 67 hits and amassing 12 doubles, 29 RBI and eight stolen bases. The Iowa Central junior college transfer started every conference game for the Hawkeyes and a team-high 47 the whole season. Durant had 23 multiple hit games, to lead team.

Toole, a shortstop and native of Council Bluffs, IA, earned his third bid to the third team despite missing the last fourth of the Hawkeye’s season due to an injury sustained against Michigan State on April 25th. Toole finished his senior season with a strong .346 batting average, 13 doubles, 31 runs scored, 25 RBI and 15 stolen bases. Toole finished up second on the team with 17 multi-hit games.

Burke, a freshman catcher hailing from Bettendorf, IA, earned all-freshman accolades. The third string catcher was called into duty after two untimely injuries and truly excelled offensively for the Hawkeyes. Burke finished with a .367 average in the conference.

Ohio State had three student-athletes earn four of the Big Ten major awards. The Buckeyes’ Dan Burkhart was tabbed Player of the Year. Alex Wimmers shared Pitcher of the Year laurels with Indiana’s Eric Arnett, while Bob Todd was recognized as Coach of the Year.