Hawkeyes Honored at Annual Dr. C.E. Obermann Awards Banquet

May 3, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA — The University of Iowa men’s gymnastics team celebrated its 2010 season May 3 with the team’s annual Dr. C.E. Obermann Awards Banquet.

Senior Jonathan Buese earned his fourth letter as a Hawkeye and was named the N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member. Buese set the school record in horizontal bar this season, scoring a 15.000. The Gainsville, FL, native, was honored in the conference after earning academic all-Big Ten honors as well as his second-straight Big Ten Sportsmanship award. The senior was a member of the 16+ Start Value Club for both rings and vault. Buese was also the recipient of the Dr. C.E. Obermann Award–which is awarded to Iowa’s outstanding senior for a career of excellent in scholarship, sportsmanship and gymnastics performance.

Fellow senior, Reid Urbain, earned his fourth letter and received the Coaches Appreciation Award. Junior Mike Jiang was recognized for his 2010 NCAA all-America honor on pommel horse. Sophomore Adam Wilson made a splash in the awards as well–Wilson earned academic all-Big Ten and was part of the +16 Start Value Club on vault.

Freshman Todd Becker earned the Academic Excellence award and freshman Matt McGrath was recognized for his Freshman of the Week honor for Feb. 8. McGrath was also a member of the +16 Start Value Club in both floor exercise and vault.

Senior Award:Jonathan BueseDanny KuklinskiJoel SnyderReid Urbain
Third Award:Ben KetelsenMike Jiang
Second Award:Zach CazabonJohn HainesJacob SwaffordAdam Wilson
First Award:Todd BeckerAnton GryshayevTimm KruegerMatt McGrathBrody Shemansky
SPECIAL RECOGNITION / ANNOUNCEMENTSSchool Record:Horizontal Bar (15.00), Jonathan Buese
Academic All-Big Ten:Jonathan BueseAdam Wilson
Big Ten Sportsmanship Award:Jonathan BueseFebruary 8, 2010: Big Ten Freshman of the Week: Matt McGrath
2010 NCAA all-American on Pommel Horse:Mike Jiang
16+ Start Value Club 2010 Members:Ben Ketelsen (FE & V)Jonathan Buese (R & V)Anton Gryshayev (R & V)Matt McGrath (FE & V)Adam Wilson (V)
Academic Excellence:Todd Becker
Most Improved Freshman:Matt McGrath
Coaches Appreciation Award:Reid Urbain
N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member:Jonathan Buese
Dr. C. E. Obermann Award:Jonathan Buese