Big Ten Releases Coaches' Poll and Players to Watch List

Aug. 14, 2012

IOWA CITY – The University of Iowa women’s soccer team has been picked sixth in the preseason coaches’ poll, the Big Ten Conference office announced Tuesday. Three Hawkeyes were also included in the players to watch list.

The Hawkeyes, who finished 13-4-3 last season, were voted in the top half of the conference in the coaches’ poll. Seniors Dana Dalrymple and Kat Lewis and sophomore Cloe Lacasse each earned a spot on the players to watch list.

“I never take too much out of the preseason poll, but it is always a nice thing to have some players on the watch list,” said Iowa head coach Ron Rainey. “It says that they are known around the league and have done some good things in the conference, and these three fit that.”

Dalrymple, a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, played in all but two games last year as a midfielder. She has played in 55 career games, which includes 28 starts. Dalrymple scored five goals and had three assists last season.

Lewis anchored one of the best defenses in school history last season. The defender from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, started every game, playing a key part of the Hawkeye defense that surrendered 17 goals last season, tied for fewest in the Big Ten. Lewis has started in 49 games the past two seasons.

Lacasse, of Sudbury, Ontario, had a record-breaking season as a freshman. Her marks for goals (12) and points (30) each ranked second best in program history, while her tally for shots on goal (79) was first. She was named to the Big Ten’s all-freshman team last season.

“All of them do different things for the team, and they typically do them very well,” said Rainey. “The good thing from my point of view, and I would throw in Alex Melin to that group, is that each of them show up and bring it every single day.”

The Hawkeyes will open the season on Friday, Aug. 17, hosting Eastern Illinois at the Iowa Soccer Complex. Start time is set for 7 p.m.


1. Penn State 2. Illinois 3. Ohio State 4. Wisconsin 5. Michigan 6. Iowa Michigan State 8. Minnesota 9. Purdue 10. Nebraska 11. Northwestern 12. Indiana