Schuelke Receives Hall of Fame Nod

FORT DODGE, Iowa– Former University of Iowa softball player Jenny Schuelke will be inducted into the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU) Hall of Fame today. The induction will take place at the 2016 Iowa State Softball Tournament hosted at Rogers Sports Complex in Fort Dodge, Iowa.

Schuelke played for Solon High School from 2002 to 2007. As the team’s leadoff hitter and shortstop, Schuelke was the centerpiece for a team that clinched two state titles in her five seasons. She was named to four all-tournament teams and was captain of the 2007 all-tournament team as a senior. Schuelke owned a career batting average over .400, was named to five all-state teams, and was twice named to Elite All-State squads. As a senior, Schuelke was the Class 2A Player of the Year, batting .452 with 10 home runs, 65 RBIs, and 60 runs scored.

Schuelke continued her success at the University of Iowa, starting 131 of her 193 career games played from 2008-2011. The outfielder and designated player ranked second on the team in RBIs, walks, and home runs and third in doubles in her senior campaign. She ended her four-year career with 86 hits, 15 doubles, 15 home runs, and 67 RBIs. Schuelke also excelled in the classroom, earning Academic All-Big Ten honors in 2010 and 2011.

Schuelke joins 20 former Hawkeyes in the IGHSAU Hall of Fame.

Name, High School (HOF Class)
Ann Coughenour, Kingsley-Pierson (1990)
Cara Coughenour, Kingsley-Pierson (1994)
Marty Pump, Rockford (1995)
Diana Repp, Fairfield (1996)
Carol Bruggeman, Charter Oak (1997)
Beth Kirchner, Sioux City North (1998)
Lea Twigg, North Scott (1999)
Kari Knopf, Dowling Catholic (2000)
Christy Hebert, CR Jefferson (2002)
Cherie Andersen, Ankeny (2004)
Katie Boney, Burlington (2006)
Kristin Johnson, CR Jefferson (2007)
Amber Morrow, Ottumwa (2007)
Lisa Birocci, Des Moines Lincoln (2007)
Mindy Heidgerken, North Scott (2008)
Stephanie Ackerson, Dowling Catholic (2009)
Natalie Johnson, Burlington (2009)
Katie Brown, Spirit Lake (2011)
Quinn Morelock, Solon (2011)
Johnnie Dowling, West Des Moines Valley (2015)
Jenny Schuelke, Solon (2016)