No. 9 Hawkeyes Clinch B1G Championship Share

24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2019-20 | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Box Score (PDF) | Hawk Talk Monthly — October | Boxscore

ANN ARBOR, Michigan — The ninth-ranked University of Iowa field hockey team won a share of the Big Ten regular season title after defeating the No. 8 Michigan Wolverines, 1-0, in Ann Arbor on Sunday.
Iowa and Maryland are co-Big Ten Champions after recording 7-1 records in conference play.

The Hawkeyes traveled to Ann Arbor determined to come out with a win. Iowa pushed the Wolverines hard early, notching a goal off a corner in the 18th minute from sophomore Lokke Stribos. Juniors Ellie Holley and Maddy Murphy were credited with assists.
Iowa held the Wolverines scoreless the rest of the match, despite facing six shots on goal and four corners. Senior goalkeeper Leslie Speight saved all six shots that were sent her way.
In the final five minutes, the Hawkeyes faced tough odds. Michigan pulled its goalkeeper and the Hawkeyes were down one player due to a penalty card. Fighting through, Iowa stopped the Wolverines and rounded out the clock with defensive saves across the board.
“I am so proud of this team. We played outstanding team defense and managed the game very well. To share a Big Ten Championship was the icing on top. This team earned it and they finished the job today.”

  • With this win, the Hawkeyes captured their 13th regular season title in program history.
  • Sophomore Lokke Stribos notched her eighth goal of the season.
  • Juniors Maddy Murphy and Ellie Holley both tallied their eighth assists of the season.

The Hawkeyes claimed the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament and will face seventh-seeded Ohio State at 2 p.m. on Thursday in Game 2. Iowa and the Buckeyes will be meeting for the second time this season, after a 2-1 victory on Sept. 27 in Iowa City. Action will be televised on the Big Ten Network.


FFI footer