Johnson Earns Medal of Honor

June. 20, 2003

Iowa football player Andy Lightfoot and softball player KristinJohnson have been named recipients of the Big Ten Medal of Honor for men’s and women’sathletics at the University of Iowa.

The Conference’s oldest award is presented annually to a male and female athlete in thegraduating class at each university that has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Johnson started every game of her Iowa career at shortstop and is the Hawkeyes’ all-timeleader in runs scored with 160. She was a member of the 2003 Big Ten regular season andtournament champion squad that advanced to the NCAA Region V championship game andfinished the season 44-15. Johnson was one of 50 athletes that accepted an invitation to competeat the 2003 Women’s National Team Selection Camp. She was also named a first team VerizonAcademic all-American and was Iowa’s female recipient of the Big Ten’s inaugural OutstandingSportsmanship Award.

Lightfoot started at right guard in all 13 games for the co-Big Ten Football ChampionHawkeyes and was named co-Most Valuable Player on offense. He was the recipient of theForest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award and was an academic all-Big Ten selection.Lightfoot was also named a first team Verizon District VII academic all-American selection forthe third consecutive year.

Print Friendly Version