Hawkeyes Fall In Big Ten Opener

March 4, 2006

IOWA CITY – The University of Iowa men’s tennis team opened its Big Ten season Saturday by hosting Minnesota. The Hawkeyes lost the match, 4-3.

In singles competition, sophomore Bart van Monsjou continued his play in the No. 1 position. He was defeated by 49th-ranked D.J. Geatz, 7-6 (5), 6-3. In the No. 2 spot, freshman Christian Bierich defeated Andres Osorio, 3-6, 6-2, 6-2. Sophomore J.P. Ritchie, in the No. 3 match, was victorious over Nic Edlefsen, 7-5, 6-2. The Hawkeyes were without their usual No. 4 player and had to use an alternate line-up. Senior Chaitu Malempati did not compete because he was out of town interviewing for medical school admission. Senior Brett Taylor, usually Iowa’s No. 5 player, played in the No. 4 spot and was defeated by Adrien Debreyne, 7-5, 6-3. Moving up to the No. 5 spot, freshman Zach Frisch was defeated by Raoul Schwark, 6-3, 6-4. Junior Scott Elwell got his first taste of dual action on Saturday, playing in the No. 6 match. He was defeated by Sion Wilkins, 6-3, 3-6, 6-2.

The Hawkeyes won two of three matches to secure the doubles point for this meet. In the No. 1 match, Taylor and Ritchie paired to defeat Wilkins and Osorio, 8-5. The usual No. 3 doubles team of senior Aaron Schaechterle and Bierich played in the No. 2 spot because of Malempati’s absence. They were defeated by Schwark and Debreyne, 8-3. The team of van Monsjou and freshman Greg Holm played the No. 3 match and defeated Geatz and Edlefsen, 8-5.

With this loss, the Hawkeyes drop to 4-3. They do not compete next week, but will return to action during their spring trip. This year, Iowa will play at Nicholls State, Southeast Louisiana and Louisiana-Lafayette. Matches will take place on March 14, 17 and 18, respectively.

Minnesota 4
Iowa 3

No. 1 D.J. Geatz (MINN) def. Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) 7-6 (5), 6-3
No. 2 Christian Bierich (IOWA) def. Andres Osorio (MINN) 3-6, 6-2, 6-2
No. 3 J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) def. Nic Edlefsen (MINN) 7-5, 6-2
No. 4 Adrien Debreyne (MINN) def. Brett Taylor (IOWA) 7-5, 6-3
No. 5 Raoul Schwark (MINN) def. Zach Frisch (IOWA) 6-3, 6-4
No. 6 Sion Wilkins (MINN) def. Scott Elwell (IOWA) 6-3, 3-6, 6-2

No. 1 Taylor/Ritchie (IOWA) def. Andres Osorio/Sion Wilkins (MINN) 8-5
No. 2 Raoul Schwark/Adrien Debreyne (MINN) def. Aaron Schaechterle/Bierich (IOWA) 8-3
No. 3 Greg Holm/van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Nic Edlefsen/D.J. Geatz (MINN) 8-5