Five Hawkeyes Named to All-Tournament Team

March 3, 2008

IOWA CITY – Five Hawkeyes were named to the 2008 Music City Classic All-Tournament team, including the tournament MVP, Wes Freie.

Freie, the Wilton, IA native, was named the tournament MVP and was also selected to the team as a designated hitter/utility player. Freie went 9-for-12 at the tournament, hitting a double, a home run and bringing in two RBIs. He was a standout hitter in Iowa’s 6-3 win over No. 5 Vanderbilt, hitting a perfect 4-for-4 with a RBI.

Other Iowa baseball team members who were named to the all-tournament team included; sophomore Justin Toole at second base, junior Kevin Hoef at shortstop and senior Kyle Riffel and junior Caleb Curry were named as outfield selections. The Hawkeyes went 2-1 at the tournament, including a win over fifth-ranked Vanderbilt. During the weekend, Toole went 5-for-14 with five RBI and two stolen bases, Hoef went 5-for-13 with two stolen bases, Riffel hit 5-for-12 and scored six Hawkeye runs at the tournament while bringing in three. Curry continued to swing the bat well, extending his hit streak to six games; he is hitting .538 on the year.

2008 Music City Classic All-Tournament Team

MVP: Wes Freie, Iowa

1st Base: Preston Land, Kansas

2nd Base: Justin Toole, Iowa

Shortstop: Kevin Hoef, Iowa

Third Base: Alex Feinberg, Vanderbilt

Catcher: Shea Robin, Vanderbilt

Outfield: Casey Larson, Kansas

Outfield: Kyle Riffel, Iowa

Outfield: Caleb Curry, Iowa (tie)

Outfield: David Macias, Vanderbilt (tie)

Designated Hitter/Utility: Wes Freie, Iowa

Pitchers: Mike Minor, Vanderbilt

Pitchers: Shaffer Hall, Kansas

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.