Four Student-Athletes Honored

March 19, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – Four University of Iowa student-athletes have been named winners of the 2008 Robert F. Ray Award and the Big Ten Medal of Honor. Each year one male and female athlete are named to receive the prestigious awards. The announcement came today from University of Iowa Athletic Director Gary Barta.

The 2008 Robert F. Ray Award has been awarded to Eric MacTaggart of the men’s track team and Jacqueline Lee of the women’s tennis team.

Eric MacTaggart

MacTaggart is a senior from Glen Ellyn, IL. He is a three-time letter winner and all-American in the 3,000 meters. He also led the team in the 1,500, 5,000, 6,000, and 8,000-meter races. He is a member of the Cross-Country Association’s all-Academic team. He has a 3.81 grade-point-average.

Lee, a senior from Canton, OH, is also a three-time letter winner. She has been a unanimous all-Big Ten selection while being one of leaders on Iowa’s tennis team. She has earned academic all-Big Ten honors and is her team’s representative to the Student Athlete Advisory Committee. She maintains a 3.05 GPA.

The Robert F. Ray Award is presented annually at the UI Finkbine Dinner to senior student athletes who will complete their eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic excellence, athletics excellence and leadership.

The winners of the 2008 Big Ten Medal of Honor are Meghan Armstrong of women’s track and football linebacker Mike Klinkenborg. The Medal of Honor goes to a graduating male and female, at each Big Ten institution, who has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Meghan Armstrong

Armstrong, a senior from Tualatin, OR, is one of the Big Ten’s top distance runners. She is a three-time all-American and has been named to the Big Ten’s all-academic team four straight years. She has a 3.13 GPA.

Mike Klinkenborg

Klinkenborg, a senior from Rock Rapids, IA, is a two-time CoSida first-team academic all-American. He was named a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete, which earned him an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. He was second-team all-Big Ten and a three-time academic all-Big Ten performer. He has a 3.93 GPA.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.