Four Hawkeyes Named To National Academic Squad

March 29, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – – Four members of the University of Iowa field hockey team have been named to the 2009 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad. Senior Tricia Dean, sophomore Becca Spengler and freshmen Sarah Drake and Kathleen McGraw were named to the squad. Dean is a four-time recipient of the award, earning the honor each year at Iowa.

The National Academic Squad recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.30, or higher, through the first semester of each academic year.

“We respect the effort that Tricia, Becca, Sarah and Merty (Kathleen) put towards their academics,” said Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum. “They are all very hard working student-athletes. They have done a great job representing our program.”

The Hawkeyes return eleven letterwinners to next year’s squad, including Spengler, Drake and McGraw.