Hawkeyes Announce Team Awards

May 5, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – – The University of Iowa field hockey team has announced its team award winners for the 2009 season. These awards include the Most Valuable Player, the Practice Player of the Year, the Nancy McLinden Carr Award and the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award.

Senior Meghan Beamesderfer was named the Most Valuable Player. This award is presented to the player who demonstrates outstanding skill, character, competitive drive, leadership, and devotion to team goals. These traits are embodied by the individual that the team and coaches deem most valuable to team success.

Beamesderfer, a native of Lititz, PA, started every game of her Hawkeye career. She was a two-time all-American, a four-time regional all-American and a three-time all-Big Ten honoree. In 2006, she was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. This season, she led the team in goals (10) and defensive saves (four) and was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Beamesderfer also received the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award. The award is presented to the player who demonstrates leadership on a daily basis. This award winner has the utmost respect of her teammates, coaches and opponents. In addition, she represents the University of Iowa in a first class manner in the classroom and on the field.

Senior Tricia Dean won the Practice Player of the Year award. The award is given to the player who maintains the highest level of intensity in practice throughout the year, helping to make her teammates better by always competing and giving everything she has in all training sessions.

Dean, who hails from Bear, DE, started 83 of 84 career games. The midfielder was a four-time recipient of the NFHCA National Academic Award and a two-time academic all-Big Ten honoree. In 2008, she was named to ESPN The Magazine’s Academic all-District team and was named to the Big Ten all-tournament team. As a senior, she led the Hawkeyes in points (28) and assists (10).

Sophomore Becca Spengler won the Nancy McLinden Carr Award. The Nancy McLinden Carr Award is presented to the player who consistently exudes enthusiasm, energy and a positive attitude within the Iowa field hockey program. These attributes were possessed by Nancy in the game of field hockey and life.

The Lititz, PA, native started all 19 games this season for the Hawkeyes and was Iowa’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. She was also named academic all-Big Ten and was a recipient of the NFHCA National Academic Award.