5 Swimmers Qualify for 2012 NCAA Championships

March 8, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa swimmers Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff, Duncan Partridge, Ryan Phelan and Gianni Sesto will participate in the 2012 Men’s NCAA Championships on March 22-24 at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Center in Federal Way, Wash. The Seattle Sports Commission and Seattle University will serve as co-hosts.

Gordon, Partridge, Phelan and Sesto will compete in the 200 free relay. The squad posted an NCAA `A’ cut time in the event after winning the Big Ten Title in the event with a time of 1:17.61. The time (1:17.61) ranks seventh fastest in the country.

Big Ten Champions in the 400 free relay, Gordon, Huff, Partridge and Phelan, will compete in the event at the championships. The quartet has the seventh fasted time in the country at 2:52.53.

Gordon will also participate in the 200 free. He posted a time of 1:35.26 in the event at the Big Ten Championships to place third overall. His best time of 1:34.85, which he set at last year’s NCAA Championships, ranks second in school history.

Phelan will represent the Hawkeyes in the 50 free. He posted a collegiate best time and new school record in the event with a time of 19.52 at the Big Ten Championships. His time (19.52) ranks 12th in the country.

At last season’s NCAA Championships, Phelan, Gordon, Partridge and Huff posted a 17th place finish in the 200 free relay with a time of 1:19.15. Phelan and Partridge both competed in the 50-free. Phelan finished in 36th place with a time of 19.89, while Partridge placed 45th at 20.09.

Gordon finished 22nd in the 200 free with a time of 1:35.67, while Huff placed 39th at 1:37.45. Gordon and Partridge participated in the 100 free posting times of 43.51 and 43.56, respectively.

Partridge, Phelan, Huff and Gordon concluded the 2011 NCAA Championships by advancing to finals in the 400-free relay after swimming a time of 2:54.19 in the preliminary round. During the finals, the team posted a time of 2:54.82 for a 15th place finish, which earned the squad All-America honors.

A total of 270 participants (235 swimmers and 35 divers) will compete in the championships. Divers will be determined by performances achieved at the Zone Diving meets March 5-11. Selected divers will be announced Monday, March 12.

ESPN3.com will stream championship finals sessions on March 22 and 23. Additionally, ESPNU will air a 90-minute show at 12:30 p.m. ET, Sunday, April 1.