Aaron White Named to Freshman All-America Team

March 27, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa’s Aaron White was named today to the 2012 Kyle Macy Freshman All-America team. White was one of 16 student-athletes recognized nationally.

White, who was also named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team and was an all-conference honorable mention honoree earlier this month, ranked first on the Hawkeyes in rebounding (5.7), third in scoring (11.1) and steals (31), and second in blocks (23). The 6-foot-8 forward scored in double figures 18 times, and posted a team-best four double-doubles.

White had two of his best games in the postseason, pouring in 25 points and clearing 11 rebounds in Iowa’s first-round NIT game against Dayton, and registering 22 points and a team-high eight boards at Oregon. The 11 rebounds tied Ryan Bowen (Georgia, 1998) for the most rebounds by a Hawkeye in an NIT contest.

The native of Strongsville, Ohio, led Iowa in rebounding nine of the last 13 games and finished the season ranked eighth in Big Ten rebounding. White averaged 16.2 points while shooting 68 percent (21-of-31) from the field the last five outings.

White finished his rookie campaign with 199 rebounds, which are the fourth-most by an Iowa freshman, and his 389 points rank fifth best by a Hawkeye rookie. White, who was a three-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week (Nov. 14, Dec. 26 and Feb. 6), started the last 14 games, averaged 13.2 points and 6.9 rebounds as a starter.

The Kyle Macy award is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball. Macy averaged 13.8 points a game as a freshman at Purdue. After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky’s 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

The winner of the 2012 Kyle Macy Award will be announced Friday in New Orleans, site of the NCAA men’s basketball championship.

Sixteen Member All-Freshman Team
Brad Beal, Florida
Trey Burke, Michigan
Anthony Collins, South Florida
Anthony Davis, Kentucky
Moe Harkless, St. John’s
Damion Lee, Drexel
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky
Tony Mitchell, North Texas
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Otto Porter, Georgetown
Austin Rivers, Duke
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee
Ricky Tarrant, Tulane
Aaron White, Iowa
Tony Wroten, Washington
Cody Zeller, Indiana