10 Hawkeyes Named to National Academic Squad

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — March

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Ten members of the University of Iowa field hockey team have been selected to the 2017 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Thursday. Iowa’s 10 honorees are a program record.

Iowa seniors Taylor Omweg, Melissa Progar, and JoElla Guagliardo are four-time National Academic Squad honorees. Junior Riley Kniptash and sophomores Ryley Miller, Leslie Speight, and Isabella Solaroli are each two-time selections. Junior Makenna Grewe, sophomore Maddy Murphy, and freshman Ashley Drum are first time honorees.

The Division I National Academic Squad program recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year.