Rowing Set For NCAA Championships

24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly – May | NCAA Championship Notes (PDF)

The 14th-ranked University of Iowa women’s rowing team travels Indianapolis to compete at the NCAA Rowing Championships this Friday through Sunday at Eagle Creek Park. The Hawkeyes begin competition Friday at 8:12 a.m. (CT).

The Hawkeyes are making their third straight NCAA appearance and fourth overall. Iowa first advanced to nationals in 2001, placing ninth overall. In 2017, Iowa ended a 16-year postseason drought, earning an at-large bid to the championships, and placing 15th overall. In 2018, Iowa finished 11th with a school-record setting 69 team points.

Friday’s opening round consists of the I Eight, II Eight, and I Four heats an the I Eight, II Eight, and I Four Repechages. Iowa is seeded 10th in the I Eight, 19th in the II Eight, and 16th in the I Four.

Following the conclusion of those races, the Hawkeyes will either move on to either repechage races later Friday and/or semifinal races on Saturday.

Iowa’s I Eight crew will open the competition on Friday, racing at 8:12 a.m. (CT) in the second heat against UCF, Princeton, Brown, and Navy.

The II Eight races in the third heat at 9:12 a.m. against Duke, Stanford, Texas, Wisconsin, and Marist.

The I Four will take on Harvard, California, Washington, and Brown in the first heat at 9:36 a.m.


Format Four heats, two repechages, two semifinal A-B and two semifinals C-D.
Heats  Top two crews advance to A-B semifinals, the remainder advance to the repechages.
Repechages    Two seven-boat repechages. 
Top two crews advance to A-B semifinals, remainder to C-D semifinals. 
Advancement   Top three crews from semifinals A-B advance to Grand Final, remainder to Petite Final.
Top three crews from semifinals C-D advance to C Final, remainder advance to D Final.

A live stream of the competition is available on Live results and live stream links will be available on the team’s schedule page at

Live results will also be posted on Twitter @Iowarowing following the conclusion of each event. 

Iowa returns 11 rowers from last year’s NCAA Championships appearance. The I Eight leads with six returners, including Katie Pearson, Hannah Greenlee, Logan Jones, Hunter Koenigsfeld, Eve Stewart, and Contessa Harold. The II Eight returns Claire Rutherford, Paige Schlapkohl, Rachel Canon, and Faith Wieland, while the I Four returns Kayla Jensen.

Crews are awarded points for their final finish in each of the three boats (I Eights, II Eights and Fours). In the Fours, the first-place finisher (in the Grand Final) receives 22 points, with each place below that receiving one fewer point (21 points for second, 20 for third on down to 1 point for 22nd place). In the II Eights, the points are doubled (44 points for first place, 42 for second, down to 2 points for 22nd place). In the I Eights, the points are tripled (66 points for first, 63 for second on down to 3 for 22nd place).
    The team with the most points is named NCAA Champion. If there is a tie, the tied teams’ result in the I Eights serves as the tiebreaker. 

The 2019 Big Ten Championships took place on May 19 in Devil’s Lake, Wisconsin. Iowa was highlighted by the I Eight’s third-place finish in 6:26.61. It is the boat’s second straight bronze medal after placing third in 2018. 

Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Rowing Championships on May 19, Iowa had three athletes named All-Big Ten. Contessa Harold was named first-team All-Big Ten, while Hunter Koenigsfeld, and Hannah Greenlee were both named to the second team.

Harold’s honor is her second consecutive first-team accolade. Harold was named the Big Ten Co-Athlete of the Year in 2018. Koenigsfeld earned her second straight second-team honor and Greenlee’s all-conference honor is the first of her career.

The NCAA Rowing Championships returns to Indiana for the first time since 2014, while the competition will be held at Eagle Creek for the first time since 2003.

The Hawkeyes have been ranked for 27 consecutive weeks– the program’s longest streak in school history. The streak peaked last season at No. 7 on April 18, 2018. This season, Iowa has been ranked at No. 12, 13, and 14.  

The University of Iowa women’s rowing team earned Boat of the Week honors for the first varsity eight (1V8) performance at the Big Ten Double Dual on Saturday, April 13. The dual marked the first time the Hawkeyes had competed at home since the 2016 season. 

Iowa’s 1V8 boat includes two 2018 CRCA All-Americans (Contessa Harold and Hunter Koenigsfeld) and three U23 National Team camp selections (Hannah Greenlee, Harold, and Koenigsfeld). Other members of the boat include Eve Stewart (U23 Dutch National Team), Naomi Visser, Katie Pearson, Elena Waiglein, Paige Schlapkohl, and coxswain Logan Jones.