15 Hawkeyes Named to 2021 National Academic Squad

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Fifteen University of Iowa Field Hockey student-athletes were selected to the 2020 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Thursday.

The Division I National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2020-21 academic year.

Iowa’s 15 honorees are a program record, besting the previous record of 11 honorees that the Hawkeyes had in 2018 and 2019.

Senior Ellie Holley and junior Lokke Stribos earned their third career selections. Seniors Nikki Freeman and Maddy Murphy, junior Meghan Conroy, and sophomores Ellie Flynn, Esme Gibson, and Sofie Stribos earned their second selections. Junior Ciara Smith, and freshmen Harper Dunne, Sophia Mackrella, Mary Jane McNary, Kelly Rose, Alex Wesneski, and Amelia Williams.

The Hawkeyes head to Columbus, Ohio, this weekend to take on Ohio State on Friday and Sunday. Iowa’s game on Friday starts at 3 p.m. (CT) and its Sunday matchup is at 11 a.m. (CT). Both games will be live streamed on BTN Plus.