4 Hawkeyes Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Four senior members of the 2022 University of Iowa football team have been named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society. Student-athletes who are recognized include linebacker Seth Benson, linebacker Jack Campbell, fullback Monte Pottebaum and defensive end John Waggoner. The announcement was made Wednesday by the National Football Foundation.

In its 17th year, the Hampshire Honor Society recognizes football players who completed their final year of playing eligibility as a starter or a significant contributor in 2022 and achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average (4.0 scale) or better throughout their college career.

Iowa is one of 25 colleges and universities to have at least one honoree in each of the 17 years of recognition.

Benson, a native of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, carried a 3.60 GPA while majoring in exercise science. Benson earned Academic All-Big Ten honors four straight years and this past year garnered Academic All-District honors from College Sports Communicators (formerly CoSIDA). On the field, Benson earned second-team All-Big Ten honors, while ranking second on the team with 95 tackles.

Campbell completed his career as a unanimous consensus All-American after leading the team with 128 tackles. He earned the William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by the National Football Foundation, and won the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker. The native of Cedar Falls, Iowa, earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for three years and carried a 3.49 GPA as an enterprise leadership major.

Pottebaum had a 3.36 GPA as a health and human physiology major. The Larchwood, Iowa, native is a four-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, and he earned the Brett Greenwood Award this past season. Pottebaum earned the Coaches Appreciation Award for his play on special teams and the Team Hustle Award on offense.

Waggoner is a management and marketing major with a 3.42 GPA. The Des Moines, Iowa, native also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors four straight seasons. Waggoner, who started 27 games at defensive end over the past two seasons, recorded 34 tackles in 2022 with 6.5 tackles for loss. He earned the Team Hustle Award on defense in 2022 and competed in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl following his senior season.

The Hampshire Honor Society recognizes players from college football programs at all levels. The complete list can be found on the NFF website, http://www.footballfoundation.org.

The Hampshire Honor Society represents a component in the NFF’s history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal. Since its inception, the initiative has previously honored 11,000 student-athletes.