Four Hawkeyes Earn All-Big Ten Laurels

May 12, 2005

IOWA CITY – The Big Ten conference announced the 2005 all-Big Ten softball teams today, which included Hawkeye sophomore Mindy Heidgerken, senior Lisa Birocci and juniors Kylie Murray and Ali Arnold.

Heidgerken was one of only three conference players honored as a unanimous first team all-Big selection after a breakout conference season. She led the Hawkeyes in five offensive categories during conference play, including batting average (.421), doubles (5), slugging percentage (.684), on base percentage (.421) and stolen bases (7). This is Heidgerken’s first all-Big Ten accolade.

Murray and Birocci were named second team all-conference. Murray batted .375 in conference play, including a .536 slugging percentage. She led the team with 21 hits and 15 RBI. This is the first time Murray has been honored by the Big Ten.

Birocci was 7-3 with a 1.66 ERA in conference play and recorded 74 strikeouts. She also batted .207 with two home runs and six RBI. This marked the third consecutive year Birocci earned all-Big Ten laurels. She was honored as the Big Ten Pitcher of the Year and first team all-Big Ten in 2003 and was a second team selection in 2004.

Arnold was selected third team all-Big Ten. She threw 40 2/3 innings in conference play and collected 55 strikeouts. She held her opponents to a .198 batting average and walked only nine batters. This is Arnold’s first all-Big Ten selection.

Iowa will face Penn State in the first round of the Big Ten Tournament Friday. Game time is set for 11 a.m. (CDT). Fans can listen to the game live on AM-800 KXIC and follow live stats (gametracker) on

First Team All-Big Ten1B  Garland Cooper, Northwestern2B  Tiffany Haas, Michigan*3B  Grace Leutele, MichiganSS  Stephanie Churchwell, NorthwesternC   Megan Higginbotham, MinnesotaUT  Ashley Esparaza, Penn StateOF   Mindy Heidgerken, IOWA*=",%20MichiganOF%20%20Erin%20Mobley,%20NorthwesternDP%20%20Nicole%20Motykca,%20MichiganP%20%20%20Jennie%20Rigger,%20Michigan*P%20%20%20Courtnay%20Foster,%20Northwestern%3C/pre%3E%3Cpre%3E%3Cstrong%3ESecond%20Team%20All-Big%20Ten%3C/strong%3E1B%20%20Samantha%20Findlay,%20Michigan2B%20%20Andrea%20Hillsey,%20Purdue3B%20%20Shelli%20Messer,%20PurdueSS%20%20Jessica%20Merchant,%20MichiganC%20%20%20Jamie%20Dotson,%20NorthwesternUT%20%20Jamee%20Juarez,%20Ohio%20State%3Cstrong%3EOF%20%20%20%3Cahref="http:"="">Kylie Murray, IOWA=",%20Michigan%20StateOF%20%20Liz%20Caputo,%20Ohio%20StateDP%20%20Stephanie%20Sward,%20Minnesota%3Cstrong%3EP%20%20%20%20%3Cahref="http:"="">Lisa Birocci, IOWA=",%20Northwestern%3C/pre%3E%3Cpre%3E%3Cstrong%3EThird%20Team%20All-Big%20Ten%3C/strong%3E1B%20%20Jenna%20Hall,%20Illinois2B%20%20Nycole%20Koyano,%20Ohio%20State3B%20%20Shanna%20Diller,%20IllinoisSS%20%20Kris%20Zacher,%20WisconsinC%20%20%20Boo%20Gillette,%20WisconsinUT%20%20Katie%20Hnatyk,%20WisconsinOF%20%20Stephanie%20Bercaw,%20MichiganOF%20%20Karisa%20Evans,%20Ohio%20StateOF%20%20Anastasia%20Miller,%20WisconsinDP%20%20Ashley%20Cutcliff,%20Ohio%20State%3Cstrong%3EP%20%20%20%20%3Cahref="http:"="">Ali Arnold, IOWA="http:>P   Missy Beseres, Penn State