Hawkeyes Fall to Spartans


April 25, 2009

Box Score

IOWA CITY — The University of Iowa baseball team fell to Michigan State Saturday at Duane Banks Field, 15-4. The Spartan offense came out swinging in the first and never trailed today’s game. The Hawkeyes left fifteen on base, 11 of which were in scoring position and lost two starters due to injury in the competition.

In the loss, freshman Mike McQuillan led the Hawkeyes going 3-for-4 with a run scored. Fellow freshman Sean Flanagan went 2-for-4 with a run scored. Kevin Hoef went 1-for-3 with an RBI and his 18th hit-by-pitch of the season. Ryan Durant’s hit streak was snapped today at 14 games, after going 0-for-3 with two walks.

The Spartans (16-23, 7-7) got on the board in the first, plating two to take a 2-0 lead. They also scored four in the second, one in the third, one in the sixth, three in the seventh and one in the ninth for a 15-4 final. Seven of Michigan State’s nine starters recorded an RBI in the game. The team was led by Chris Roberts going 5-for-6 with six RBI on the afternoon. Roberts was only a home run shy of hitting the cycle.

The Iowa (14-24, 3-10) offense scattered 11 hits, however only scored in two innings. In the second, the Hawkeyes scored three to trail 6-3. Flanagan led off with a single and scored on a T.J. Cataldo RBI double. Kody McManis continued things by drawing a walk. Both runners advanced on a Chett Zeise sacrifice bunt, and Cataldo scored on a wild pitch. McManis scored on a Hoef sacrifice fly. In the fifth, The Black and Gold added another for a 10-4 scored.

Receiving the loss was starter Phil Schreiber who went one and one-third innings and allowed six runs on eight hits. The bullpen featured: Michael Jacobs, Nick Erdman, Jeff Pacha and Sean Flanagan.

Iowa is slated to play Michigan State in game two of the three-game series at Duane Banks Field tomorrow. The game will be broadcasted on the Big Ten Network (HD); first pitch is set for 1:30 p.m.

GAME SUMMARYMichigan State  241   301   301  -  15  18  1Iowa        030   010   000  -  4   11  3
WP- Wunderlich (5-4)LP- Schreiber (2-2)