Hawkeyes To Host Intrasquad Meet

Dec. 2, 2009

IOWA CITY, IA – The University of Iowa men’s and women’s gymnastics seasons are drawing near and both squads will have a final opportunity to hone their skills at the annual Black and Gold Intrasquad meet Dec. 5. Competition will begin at 2 p.m. inside the UI Fieldhouse.

The women will compete on the vault, uneven bars, balance beam and floor exercise while the men will perform the floor exercise, pommel horse, still rings, vault, parallel bars and high bar.

“The Black and Gold meet is always exciting for our team,” said women’s Head Coach Larissa Libby. “It’s a great event for the fans to see their favorite gymnasts showcased in a setting that is not typical of a gymnastics competition. It’s also a great way for us as a coaching staff and for our team members to really evaluate where we are at this point in the preseason. It gives us that inside look into what our athletes are like in a competitive setting, which will help in the development of stronger lineups.”

“I always look forward to the Black and Gold meet, the classic win-win situation as long as everyone survives,” added men’s Head Coach Tom Dunn. “It is when you find out who can handle the new skills they have been working on under the pressure of a competitive format. It is competition within the team to earn a starting job that will make the Hawkeyes a better team in 2010. It all starts with the Black and Gold meet.”

The men will kick off their season Jan. 16 at the Windy City Invitational in Chicago, IL while the women begin with a meet at Michigan, Jan. 9.

Black Team
Jack McClay
Todd Becker
Jacob Swafford
Anton Gryshayev
John Haines
Brody Shemansky
Ben Ketelsen
Blaine Klaczak
Taylor McClendon
Zach Cazabon

Jenny Donar
Arielle Sucich
Becky Simbhudas
Kelly Galau
Emma Stevenson
Andrea Hurlburt
Jordan Eszlinger
Heather Fomon
Olivia Beatty

Gold Team
Danny Kuklinski
Matt McGrath
Joel Snyder
Reid Urbain
Adam Wilson
Timm Krueger
Jon Buese
Michael Jiang

Houry Gebeshian
Annie Szatkowski
Jessa Hansen
Amy Center
Rachel Corcoran
Melissa Miller
Rachel Nash
Jennie Schurman
Kaitlynn Urano