6 Hawkeyes Named to All-Tournament Team

March 5, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Six University of Iowa baseball student-athletes have been named to the Riverview Inn Classic All-Tournament team after Iowa won 2-of-3 games in Clarkesville, Tenn.

Shortstop Jake Yacinich, outfielder Kris Goodman, pitchers Matt Dermody and Jarred Hippen, designated hitter Ryan Rumpf and utility player Jake Mangler were recognized. Four of the six of the honorees are freshmen.

Yacinich had five hits, two of which were doubles, scored five runs and had four RBI. Rumpf combined for a team-best seven hits in the three games, collecting two triples and a double to go along with six RBI. Mangler had four hits, a team-best seven RBI and scored three runs. Goodman had six hits and scored four runs.

Hippen got his first win of the season in Friday’s win over Akron, throwing eight strong innings, allowing three runs while scattering 10 hits. Dermody got a no-decision, throwing six and two-thirds, striking out seven batters, and allowing only two runs.

The Hawkeyes notched wins over Akron (17-3) and Youngstown State (16-15 in 10 innings), while falling to host-school Austin Peay (4-3) in 10 innings.

Iowa returns to action Saturday when it plays Georgetown in Winter Haven, Fla., at the RussMatt Central Florida Invitational.