5 Hawkeyes Named NWCA Academic Scholars

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Five University of Iowa wrestlers have been named to the 2021 National Wrestling Coaches Association Division I All-Academic Team.

Spencer Lee, Kaleb Young, Michael Kemerer, Jacob Warner and Tony Cassioppi represent the national champion Hawkeyes as NWCA Scholar All-Americans. To be eligible, student-athletes must have a 3.2 grade point average and have won 60 percent of their matches, or maintain a 3.0 GPA while earning All-America honors.

Lee was named to the academic team for the fourth straight year. Kemerer is also a four-time honoree, having previously earned honors in 2017, 2018 and 2020. Warner and Young are three-time recipients and Cassioppi is a two-time honoree.

Iowa has received 47 NWCA academic honors since Tom Brands was named head coach in 2006.

The complete list of honorees is available at nwcaonline.com.