Hawkeyes Announce Team Captains for 2023

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Five Hawkeyes have been voted team captains for the 2023 University of Iowa baseball season, it was announced Friday by head coach Rick Heller. The team captains are graduate student Brennen Dorighi, redshirt senior Jared Simpson, redshirt junior Brayden Frazier, and juniors Ty Langenberg and Michael Seegers.

Dohrigi, who is in his first season with the program, spent four seasons at Wofford where he appeared in 118 games, hitting .318 with 85 RBIs and 13 home runs. The Cherry Hills, Colorado, native hit .339 as a senior on his way to being named a first-team All-Southern Conference selection by the coaches and media.

Simpson, who is in his second season with the program, has appeared in 13 games as a Hawkeye, where he has a 0-1 record with a 4.11 ERA. Last season, the Clinton, Iowa, native had 23 strikeouts over 15 1/3 innings.

Frazier, who is in his fifth season as a Hawkeye, has appeared in 79 career games hitting .249 with 15 doubles, 34 RBIs and 27 runs scored. The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native was also a captain in 2022.

Langenberg went 7-2 with a 3.71 ERA last season with 74 strikeouts as Iowa’s Sunday starter. The Urbandale, Iowa, native has thrown 73 1/3 innings and started 12 games with 22 appearances in his career.

Seegers started 54 games during the 2022 season, where he hit .286 with 31 RBIs and 43 runs scored, serving as Iowa’s leadoff hitter. For his career, the Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, native has started 65 games where he is a .257 career hitter.

The Hawkeyes open official team practice today. Iowa will open the 2023 season with a trip to Port Charlotte, Florida, for the Snowbird NCAA Baseball Classic from Feb. 17-19. The team will face Indiana State in its season opener.