Dr. Grant to be Inducted into USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The late Dr. Christine Grant will be inducted into the USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame as a contributor. The organization announced their 2024 induction class Friday.

Since its establishment in 1988, the USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame has recognized individuals who have achieved success internationally and made significant contributions to the organization.

The Hall of Fame celebration will take place May 24 in Westlake Village, California.

“I am pleased to welcome these five inductees into the USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame,” said Simon Hoskins, USA Field Hockey’s Executive Director. “Patrick, Kelly and Katelyn’s achievements on the field are well deserving of this honor. It’s only fitting that Amy is inducted as the first umpire into the Hall of Fame, and Dr. Grant, for her dedication to the sport and women’s athletics.”

Grant, Iowa’s first director of women’s intercollegiate athletics, built a strong athletics department while maintaining a national voice on issues related to gender equity. She was also instrumental in bringing about full implementation of Title IX, the federal legislation passed in 1972 that required equal opportunities for all in the fields of athletics and academics. She served as a consultant for the Civil Rights Title IX Task Force.

Under Grant’s watch, 12 Hawkeye programs combined to win 27 Big Ten championships. Those titles were the result of Grant helping open the door of opportunity. Iowa’s women’s basketball team advanced to the 1993 NCAA Final Four. On Feb. 3, 1985, Iowa drew a national record crowd of 22,157 for a women’s basketball contest against Ohio State. Iowa field hockey reached the NCAA championship game in 1986 and has a total of 11 Final Four appearances.

The University of Iowa’s field hockey field was renamed Dr. Christine H.B. Grant Field in 1991 and was re-dedicated in 2006.