Clark Named a Semifinalist for the 94th AAU Sullivan Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Senior guard from the University of Iowa, Caitlin Clark, was named a Semifinalist for the 94th AAU James E. Sullivan Award on Wednesday. Clark was the recipient of the 93rd Sullivan Award last year.

The winner is determined by AAU Sullivan Award Committee, AAU Board of Directors, sports media, and past winners. Clark was named the winner of the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award last year. Former Iowa Wrestler, Spencer Lee, is the only other Hawkeye to win the award in school history (2019).

In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award aims to recognize the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and sportsmanship on and off the field.

Clark owns a career 3,520 points and is eight points away for breaking the NCAA all-time scoring record, and she recently become the sixth women’s college basketball player to record 1,000 dimes in a career. The West Des Moines, Iowa native is the only player in the country with 750+ points, 175+ assists, and 150+ rebounds this season.

The one-week voting period to determine the six finalists opens to the public today at Voting opens to the public today, Wednesday, Feb. 14, and closes at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on Wednesday, Feb. 21. The public can vote once a day for their choice, up until the voting closes.

This year’s winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 23 at the historic New York Athletic Club (NYAC) – the birthplace of the AAU.

The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer sports organizations in the country. As a multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports programs. Founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in sports, the AAU philosophy of “Sports For All, Forever” is now shared by more than 720,000 members and 150,000 volunteers across 45 sports programs and 55 U.S. districts. For more information, visit