Clark, Martin Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale USBWA National Player of the Year Watchlist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior, Caitlin Clark, and graduate student, Kate Martin, have been named to the Ann Meyers Drysdale USBWA National Player of the Year Watchlist it was announced Tuesday. Clark won the award last season.

The award is presented to the nation’s top Division I women’s player, and the winner will be announced on site at the Final Four in Cleveland.

In Clark’s senior campaign, she became the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer surpassing Washington’s Kelsey Plum. The West Des Moines, Iowa native has broke the Iowa all-time records for scoring, assists, and three pointers made. She currently leads the country in points (900), points per game (32.1), assists (239), and assists per game (8.5).

She is the first Division-I player to record 3,300+ points, 900+ assists, and 800+ rebounds in a career. Clark is also the all-time leader in 30+ point performances in men’s and women’s college basketball over the last 25 seasons. (53)

Martin is the first Iowa women’s basketball player to have amassed 900+ points, 500+ rebounds, 400+ assists, 120+ steals, and 60+ blocks in a career. The Edwardsville, Illinois native stands as the 43rd Hawkeye in program history to eclipse 1,000-career points, the 32nd player to notch 500 career rebounds, and the 10th player to notch 400 assists in a career.

She has scored 10+ points in 20 of the last 24 games this season, and among active players whom didn’t transfer, Martin is fourth nationally for most active wins in a career. (116)