Clayborn One of Four Finalists for Rotary Lombardi Award

Nov. 10, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – University of Iowa senior defensive end Adrian Clayborn has been named one of four finalists for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award. The announcement was made Wednesday evening by the Rotary Club of Houston.

The 41st Lombardi Award will be presented at the Rotary Lombardi Award Presentation Dec. 8 in Houston, Tex. The award has been presented annually since 1970 to the nation’s top college football lineman. The award honors the memory of Vince Lombardi, legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers. The four finalists will take part in two days of activities prior to the awards presentation.

Joining Clayborn as finalists for the award are junior DE Da’Quan Bowers of Clemson, junior DL Nick Fairley of Auburn and senior center Jake Kirkpatrick of TCU.

Clayborn (6-4, 285) is a native of St. Louis, MO (Webster Groves HS) who has started 33 games in his Hawkeye career, including the last 26 straight. In nine games this season he has collected 40 tackles, including six tackles for loss and 2.5 quarterback sacks. He also has four QB pressures and blocked a field goal attempt in Iowa’s 38-28 win at Michigan.

Clayborn collected 10 tackles in Iowa’s win over Penn State, earning recognition as the Big Ten Conference defensive Player of the Week. He also had a quarterback sack for minus 15 yards and three tackles for loss against the Nittany Lions. He added five tackles and the seventh forced fumble of his career against Wisconsin.

Along with the Lombardi Award, Clayborn is one of 16 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award. He was named to preseason Watch Lists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Ted Hendricks Award, the Chuck Bednarik Award and the Bronko Nagurski Award. He was a preseason first team all-America selection by Sports Illustrated, Sporting News and Playboy magazines.

As a junior in 2009 Clayborn was the Most Valuable Player in Iowa’s 24-14 win over ACC champion Georgia Tech in the FedEx Orange Bowl and was named national Defensive Performer of the Year by College Football Performance Awards. He earned third team all-America honors and was a first team all-Big Ten selection.

Four Hawkeye linemen have previously been semifinal candidates for the Rotary Lombardi Award, including Jeff Drost (1986), Mike Devlin (1992), Jared DeVries (1998) and Robert Gallery (2003).