Hawkeyes Finish Competition at San Diego Crew Classic

April 7, 2013

SAN DIEGO, Calif. — The University of Iowa women’s rowing team traveled to San Diego, Calif., this weekend to compete in the 40th annual San Diego Crew Classic at Crown Point Shores on Mission Bay.

Competition began on Saturday, as the Hawkeyes first competed in heat B of the Women’s Collegiate Varsity 8 Invitational. Iowa took sixth place with a time of 6:53.10 to qualify for the petitie finals.

Iowa then competed in heat A of the Women’s Collegiate 4+, placing fifth with a time of 7:54.21, to qualify for the petite finals.

In heat A of the Women’s Collegiate 2V, the Hawkeyes took fourth place with a time of 7:05.95 to move on to the petitie finals on Sunday.

The last race of the day for Iowa was heat B of the Women’s Collegiate Novice 8, but the Hawkeyes failed to qualify for the finals as they scratched out of the event.

Sunday wrapped up with three petite finals for the Hawkeyes. Iowa competed in the Women’s Collegiate 2V petite finals. The Hawkeyes finished in second place behind Washington State, with a time of 6:51.75.

In the Women’s Collegiate 4+ petite final, Iowa took third place with a time of 7:52.82. Kansas State took first place.

In Iowa’s final race of the competition, the Hawkeyes took third place in the Women’s Collegiate Varsity 8 Invitational petite final with a time of 6:48.13. Wisconsin finished first in the race.

Head Coach Steve Pritzker felt that the team has come a long way in improvement.

“This weekend was a productive step for the team in learning that we want to be competitive,” said Pritzker. “Obviously there is a long way to go to compete at the top echelon but we certainly made some progress versus some teams we raced earlier this season. This is an encouraging sign for the development of the team and their mindset as we move forward with a very challenging part of our schedule.”

The Hawkeyes next event will be close to home as they compete in a Big Ten Double Dual against Minnesota and Wisconsin on Saturday, April 13th in Solon, Iowa.

Iowa Lineups at San Diego Crew Classic
1V8Laurel Johnson (cox), Mackenzie Norton, Edwina Flakemore, Katy Kroll, Hunter Terry, Erin Czupil, Laura Hallman, Louise Bensz, Gabrielle Watson
2V8Clare Simms (cox), Zoe Ribar, Rebecca Thompson, Brianna Achs, Susie Stralina, Jessica Streur, Lauren Subler, Nina Hendriks, April Podbregar
1V4Zoe Lewis (cox), Mary Stump, Alyssa Armstrong, Kristi Rasmussen, Sarah Rhoads