Iowa, Big Ten Announce 2016 And 2017 Football Schedules

July 11, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. — The Big Ten office announced the conference football schedules for the 2016 and 2017 seasons today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The schedules consist of nine league games each season, with Iowa playing five road games in 2016 and five conference home games in 2017.

Iowa’s Big Ten schedule in 2016 includes homes game against Northwestern, Wisconsin, Michigan and Nebraska. Iowa opens Big Ten play Oct. 1, hosting Northwestern. Iowa plays at Minnesota, Purdue, Rutgers, Penn State, and Illinois. The nonconference slate in 2016 includes three straight home games against Miami (Ohio), Iowa State, and North Dakota State. The first football game between Iowa and Rutgers will take place Oct. 29.

In 2017, Iowa is slated for nonconference games with Iowa State in Ames and North Texas in Iowa City. An additional nonconference contest is yet to be added. Big Ten home opponents include Illinois, Penn State, Minnesota, Ohio State, and Purdue. The Hawkeyes will travel to Michigan State for the Big Ten opener on Sept. 30 and also visit Northwestern, Wisconsin and Nebraska.

The Heroes Game, matching Iowa and Nebraska, is scheduled for the Friday after Thanksgiving in both 2016 and 2017.

Iowa will play the other six members of the West Division in each of the two seasons. Non-division games in 2016 include Rutgers, Penn State and Michigan. The Hawkeyes plan non-division foes Michigan State, Penn State and Ohio State the following season.

Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers in the East Division, and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin in the West Division.

The Big Ten will hold the 2013 Football Media Days and 42nd annual Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago, featuring all 12 head coaches and some of the nation’s top returning players. The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, Aug. 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.

Here are Iowa’s football schedules for both 2016 and 2017:


Sept. 3 Miami (Ohio)

Sept. 10 Iowa State

Sept. 17 North Dakota State

Sept. 24 Open

Oct. 1 Northwestern*

Oct. 8 at Minnesota*

Oct. 15 at Purdue*

Oct. 22 Wisconsin*

Oct. 29 at Rutgers

Nov. 5 at Penn State

Nov. 12 Michigan

Nov. 19 at Illinois*

Nov. 25 Nebraska*


Sept. 2 Open

Sept. 9 at Iowa State

Sept. 16 North Texas

Sept. 23 Open

Sept. 30 at Michigan State

Oct. 7 Illinois*

Oct. 14 Penn State

Oct. 21 at Northwestern*

Oct. 28 Minnesota*

Nov. 4 Ohio State

Nov. 11 at Wisconsin*

Nov. 18 Purdue*

Nov. 24 at Nebraska*

* – Divisional game