IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa football team will hold an open practice on Saturday, April 17, in Kinnick Stadium. The open practice is free.

Gates to Kinnick Stadium will open at 8:30 a.m. (CT), with practice scheduled to begin at 9:30. Fans will be able to enter select gates, including Gates A (south end zone) B (southwest) and H (northeast). All fans need to wear masks during the event. Regular season game-day search procedures will be in place and fans will be allowed to sit in the north, south and west stands. Fans will not be permitted in the premium seat areas and press box.

Free parking will be available on hard surface lots, while normal ramp fees will be charged. Tailgating will not be allowed. Concession stands will be open at select locations on the concourse, with limited menu items available. Additional information is available at

Fans who purchased Hawkeye Fan Cutouts for our football or winter sports seasons will have the opportunity to pick up cutouts during the open practice. The pick-up location will be in the North concourse and begins at 9 a.m., running until the end of practice. For more details, visit

The Hawkeyes open the 2021 season Sept. 4 against Indiana. Other home games are Kent State (Sept. 18), Colorado State (Sept. 25), Penn State (Oct. 9), Purdue (Oct. 16), Minnesota (Nov. 13) and Illinois (Nov. 20).

Questions concerning the purchase of 2021 football tickets, including general public, UI faculty/staff and UI student season tickets by current UI students, should be directed to the UI Athletics Ticket Office. The office telephone number is 1-800-IA-HAWKS.

All tickets for 2021 home games will be mobile. Fans may access tickets via the Hawkeye Sports App, a link via email, or account login at These tickets are optimized for display on your smartphone device, and should not be printed. Fans can review additional information on mobile tickets by visiting

Iowa will conclude spring practice Saturday, May 1, with a second open event in Kinnick Stadium. That free event will begin at 9:30 a.m.