Martin, Sargent Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Senior Mehki Sargent (football) and redshirt junior Kate Martin (women’s basketball) have been selected as Iowa’s 2021 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo was chosen from Iowa’s list of 2020-21 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.

Sargent was second on the team in rushing yards (76-432) and shared the team lead with seven touchdowns. Sargent ranks 20th in career rushing yards (1,740), joining the program for three seasons. He is one of 11 players to rush for as many as 20 career touchdowns and he is tied for 26th in career scoring. Sargent participated in the Hula Bowl at the end of the season and was named his team’s offensive MVP in that contest. Sargent was named a Permanent Team Captain for offense, and earned the Coaches Appreciation Award for both offense and special teams. He earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors from both league coaches and media. He is a native of Key West, Florida.

Martin, an Edwardsville, Illinois, native, started all 30 games during the 2020-21 season after tearing her ACL her freshman season and playing limited minutes in a knee brace during her second season as a Hawkeye. After two seasons, she was able to play without the brace, averaging 30.7 minutes, seven points, 4.4 rebounds, and four assists per game. Against Illinois (Jan. 3), Martin’s nose was broken and she was removed for the second half of the game, but she never missed a second of practice or any games. After playing over six weeks with a mask, she took it off and had a career day, recording her first career double-double with a career-high 19 points and career-high 11 assists against Penn State (Feb. 18).

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing, and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Following is a list of Iowa’s past Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Year Men’s Award Winner Women’s Award Winner
2003 Stuart Waters, Men’s Tennis Kristin Johnson, Softball
2004 Nate Kaeding, Football Laura Chipman, Softball
2005 Joe Johnston, Wrestling Jennifer Skolaski, Swimming & Diving
2006 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Liz Grajewski, Women’s Gymnastics
2007 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Kara Zappone, Field Hockey
2008 Bart van Monsjou, Men’s Tennis Brittany Keyes, Rowing
2009 Christian Bierich, Men’s Tennis Wendy Ausdemore, Women’s Basketball
2010 A.J. Edds, Football Laura Cilek, Women’s Golf
2011 Chris Brant, Men’s Golf Kelsey Cermak, Women’s Basketball
2012 Matt Gatens, Men’s Basketball Betsy Flood, Women’s Track & Field
2013 Eric May, Men’s Basketball Mareike Schrulle, Women’s Cross Country
2014 James Morris, Football Theairra Taylor, Women’s Basketball
2015 Mark Weisman, Football Melissa Dixon, Women’s Basketball
2016 Drew Ott, Football Amy Ihm, Women’s Golf
2017 Nicholas Baer, Men’s Basketball Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey
2018 Spencer Lee, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2019 Alex Marinelli, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2020 Connor McCaffery, Men’s Basketball Makenzie Meyer, Women’s Basketball
2021 Mehki Sargent, Football Kate Martin, Women’s Basketball