Iowa-Oregon St To Play In Phil Knight Legacy First Round

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The brackets for the 2022 Phil Knight Legacy, which includes the University of Iowa women’s basketball team, was announced on Monday. The multi-team tournament features four women’s teams and eight men’s teams competing in Portland, Oregon, during ESPN’s annual Feast Week.

The nationally-ranked Hawkeyes will face Oregon State in the first round on Friday, Nov. 25, at 7 p.m. (CT). That game will take place at the Chiles Center — on the campus of the University of Portland — and will be televised on ESPNU. The other first-round matchup pits Duke versus Connecticut.

The championship game will be broadcast on ABC at noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 27, at the Moda Center, while the third place contest will be televised on ESPN2 at 9 p.m. (CT) on Sunday at Veterans Memorial Coliseum. Both arenas are located in downtown Portland.

The four women’s teams have combined for 97 NCAA Tournament appearances, 44 Elite Eights, 28 Final Fours and 12 national championships.

Iowa won both the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles, totaling 24 wins and ascending as high as No. 8 in the national rankings a season ago. The Hawkeyes return all five starters, including All-Americans Caitlin Clark and Monika Czinano. Clark, who was honored as the Big Ten Player of the Year and a Naismith and Wooden Award finalist in 2021, averaged an NCAA best in points per game (27.0), assists per game (8.0), triple-doubles (5), free throws made (200) and 30-point games (11). In addition to earning honorable mention All-America accolades, Czinano was first-team all-conference and Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Semifinalist. The fifth-year senior led the nation in field-goal percentage (67.9) and ranked sixth in field-goals made (277), 11th in total points (656) and 12th in points per game (21.2).

Oregon State posted a 17-14 record and advanced to the WNIT Quarterfinals a year ago. The Beavers placed eighth in the Pac-12 standings with a 6-9 league record. Oregon State returns two players with starting experience, including Talia von Oelhoffen, who averaged team bests in scoring (13.7 ppg) and assists (3.0 apg) and Jelena Mitrovic (5.4 ppg and 4.8 rpg).

The early season men’s and women’s college basketball events will honor the NIKE, Inc. co-founder and 2012 Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame inductee.

Moda Championships Packages are now on sale. Single session tickets will be on sale Friday, July 29, at noon (CT) with ticket information available here.