Lisa Bluder

Bluder was named head coach at the University of Iowa in 2000 and retires as the all-time winningest coach in Big Ten history with an overall record of 528-254 and a Big Ten record of 262-145. Under her leadership, the Hawkeyes advanced to the last two National Championship Games and made 22 postseason appearances overall (18 NCAA and 4 WNIT), including 14 of the last 16 NCAA Tournaments. Bluder led the Hawkeyes to five Big Ten Tournament titles, and two shared Big Ten regular season championships.

Under her tutelage, Hawkeye players were named the National Player of the Year three times with two others named consensus All-Americans.

Three different players were named the Big Ten Player of the Year and also three different players recognized as Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Sixty-five Hawkeyes earned All-Big Ten honors.

Seventeen former Hawkeyes went on to play professionally.

In the classroom, her student-athletes were named Academic All-Big Ten more than 150 times, while Ally Disterhoft (2016, 2017) and Caitlin Clark (2023, 2024) were both recognized as the Academic All-American of the Year.


884-396 Overall Record


528-254 Record at Iowa


262-145 B1G Record at Iowa

Lisa has left an indelible mark on this program, touched countless lives, and brought joy to all who know and love the Hawkeyes. Words can’t appropriately express the gratitude I share with so many for the impact she has made on the game of women’s basketball and the University of Iowa.

Beth Goetz Henry B. and Patricia B. Tippie Director of Athletics Chair

Lisa, congratulations on your historic career. Your record as a coach speaks for itself. Beyond the many wins, you leave a legacy of positively impacting thousands of lives on and off the court. Personally, it has been an honor to call you a friend for almost 25 years. Best wishes to you, David, and your family. Enjoy your well-deserved retirement!

Kirk Ferentz Moon Family Head Football Coach

Simply no one better at building a team… Thank you for believing in me more than anyone 🤍 Enjoy retirement, coach. Very much deserved 🥹

Caitlin Clark National Player of the Year, 2023 & 2024

A LEGEND!! Lisa Bluder congrats on your retirement, you are truly one of a kind. Super blessed to have been coached by you, Love you so much! 🥹

Megan Gustafson National Player of the Year, 2019

It has been the honor of my career to be a part of the Iowa Hawkeye family, and to lead a women’s basketball program filled with so many talented and remarkable young women, who have gone on to do great things in their careers and, more importantly, in their lives.

I want to thank the incredible fans for believing in what we were doing and how we were doing it, creating the greatest home court advantage in all of women’s basketball.

Samantha Logic
Megan Gustafson
2018, 2019
Kathleen Doyle
Caitlin Clark
2021, 2022, 2023, 2024