Iowa at Minnesota Postgame Notes


Nov. 8, 2014

Recap | Box Score | Photo Gallery

Iowa (6-3, 3-2) fell to Minnesota (7-2, 4-1), 51-14, Saturday at TCF Bank Stadium.

Iowa scored a touchdown on its opening drive for the third straight game. The Hawkeyes drove 76 yards on 12 plays (5:47) and found the endzone on a 1-yard touchdown rush by RB Mark Weisman.

RB Mark Weisman scored a rushing touchdown for the seventh straight game. He has rushed for a touchdown in 12 of the last 13 games.

RB Mark Weisman’s 1-yard rushing touchdown in the first quarter was his 30th career rushing touchdown. He is the third player in program history to rush for 30 or more touchdowns in a career (Sedrick Shaw, 33; Tavian Banks, 33).

SS John Lowdermilk (13) and LB Josey Jewell (9) recorded career highs in tackles.

WR Andrew Stone recorded his first career catch and first career touchdown reception (24 yards) today.

The Hawkeyes scored a touchdown on their opening drive for the third straight game and fourth time this season (Northern Iowa, Maryland, Northwestern, Minnesota).

The Hawkeyes have played 52 consecutive games without a missed or blocked PAT, the longest streak of any school in the nation. Iowa has converted on 155 consecutive PATs during the streak.

Instant replay was used four times today.

1) Minnesota 44-yard touchdown reception, call was confirmed (official review).

2) Minnesota incomplete pass on the Iowa sideline ruled out of bounds, call was overturned (official review).

3) Minnesota touchdown reception in the back of the endzone was confirmed (official review).

4) Akrum Wadley fumble was confirmed (official review).

5) Pass intended for WR Riley McCarron ruled incomplete, call was confirmed (Iowa challenge).

Minnesota won the toss and deferred to the second half. Iowa received the opening kickoff of the eighth time this season. In 16 seasons as Iowa’s head coach, Kirk Ferentz and the Hawkeye received the opening kickoff in 158-of-196 games (94-64).

Iowa travels to Champaign, Illinois, to face the Illini on Nov. 15 at Memorial Stadium. Television and kickoff information will be announced no later than Monday, Nov. 10.