3 Hawkeyes Named To Watch Lists

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Three University of Iowa football players have been named to position watch lists on Friday. Offensive lineman Logan Jones was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List, while tight ends Erick All and Luke Lachey were both named to the John Mackey Award Watch List.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the nation’s premier center in college football. Former Hawkeye, Tyler Linderbaum, was the recipient of the 2021 Rimington Trophy.

Jones (6-foot-3, 290 pounds) started all 13 games at the center position as a sophomore in 2022 – his first on the Hawkeyes’ offensive line after moving from the defensive line during 2022 spring practice. The Council Bluffs, Iowa, native helped Iowa’s offense average 94.8 rushing yards per game.

The center with the most first team votes on three All-America teams (Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News, and Football Writers Association of America) will determine the winner of the Rimington Trophy. The award is named after Nebraska center Dave Rimington, who is a two-time All-American, College Football Hall of Fame inductee, and the only college football player to win the Outland Trophy twice.

The Mackey Award was established in 2000, and is given annually to the tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of Pro Football Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey. Two Hawkeyes have been the recipient of the Mackey Award: T.J. Hockenson in 2018 and Dallas Clark in 2002. Sam LaPorta was a semifinalist last season, joining Noah Fant (2018), Allen Reisner (2010) and Tony Moeaki (2009) as semifinalists.

All (6-foot-5, 250 pounds) transferred to Iowa after competing three seasons at the University of Michigan. He was an honorable mention all-conference selection in 2021, after amassing 38 receptions for 437 yards and two touchdowns. The Hawkeye senior caught a career-high 10 passes for 98 yards in a win at Michigan State on Oct. 30, 2021. The native of Fairfield, Ohio, played in just three games a year ago due to injury.

Lachey (6-foot-6, 253 pounds) ranked third on the Hawkeyes in receptions (28) and receiving yards (398) in 2022. The Columbus, Ohio, native caught a team-best four touchdowns during his sophomore season. Lachey caught a personal-best seven passes for 89 yards and one touchdown against Nebraska on Nov. 25, 2022. The junior is a preseason second-team and third-team All-Big Ten honoree by Phil Steele and Athlon Sports, respectively.

The award is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

The Hawkeyes open their season on Sept. 2 against Utah State. The sold-out game is set for an 11 a.m. (CT) kickoff.

* Erick All – John Mackey Award (TE)
* Cooper DeJean – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (D-POY) // Paul Hornung Award (versatility)
* Logan Jones – Rimington Trophy (C)
* Luke Lachey – John Mackey Award (TE)
* Cade McNamara – Maxwell Award (POY)
* Drew Stevens – Lou Groza Award (PK)
* Tory Taylor – Ray Guy Award (P)