Kaleb Johnson Named Doak Walker Candidate

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa sophomore running back Kaleb Johnson has been named a preseason candidate for the 2023 Doak Walker Award, which is presented to the nation’s top college running back by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.

In its 33rd year, the award is named after SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker.

Johnson (6-foot, 222 pounds) earned freshman All-America honors after rushing for an Iowa freshman record 779 yards with six touchdowns in 2022. The Hamilton, Ohio, native rushed for 200 yards in a win at Purdue last November, the second highest single-game total by an Iowa rookie and 18th best in program history. Johnson also averaged 25 yards on 13 returns during his true freshman campaign.

Former Hawkeye Shonn Greene won the award in 2008, while Albert Young was a semifinalist in 2005.

Johnson and the Hawkeyes open their season on Sept. 2 against Utah State. The sold-out game is set for an 11 a.m. (CT) kickoff.

* Erick All – John Mackey Award (TE)
* Cooper DeJean – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (D-POY) // Paul Hornung Award (versatility)
* Kaleb Johnson – Doak Walker Award (RB)
* Logan Jones – Rimington Trophy (C)
* Luke Lachey – John Mackey Award (TE)
* Cade McNamara – Maxwell Award (POY)
* Drew Stevens – Lou Groza Award (PK)
* Tory Taylor – Ray Guy Award (P)