7 Hawkeyes Place at Pat “Flash” Flanagan Open

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The University of Iowa men’s wrestling team had seven Hawkeyes place at the Pat “Flash” Flanagan Open at the Graber Sports Center on Saturday afternoon.

The Hawkeyes went a combined 35-14 on the day.

Kale Petersen (133), Cade Siebrecht (149), Drake Rhodes (165), Will Carano (174) and Easton Fleshman (285-Unattached) all finished in second. Carter Martinson (157) finished in third and Isaiah Fenton (165-Unattached) finished in fifth to round out the Hawkeye placers.

Petersen won by technical fall (20-4; :39), fall (1:33) and major decision (13-1) before getting pinned by unattached Ben Bast in 2:38 in his championship matchup.

Siebrecht used a 17-2 tech. fall over Garrett Head of Indian Hills CC and a 5-4 decision Abel Gaitan of Grandview to put himself into the semifinals. Siebrecht then won a tightly-contested match against Chase Fiser of Loras in tiebreaker 2, 6-5, before falling to Carter Fousek of Iowa State, 4-1, in sudden victory 1 in the finals.

Carter Martinson won via tech. fall and pin before losing a decision to Cody Goebel (Wisconsin) in the quarterfinals. He then rattled off a pair of decisions winning, 7-4, against Collin Altensey of Upper Iowa and, 9-8, over Northern Illinois’ Kavan Troy. In the third-place match, Martinson won via disqualification over Goebel.

Fenton, wrestling unattached, won his first three matches of the day, securing a fall, tech. fall and decision. In the semifinals, Jack Thomsen (Northern Iowa) defeated Fenton, 17-1, and in Fenton’s first wrestleback, he lost a 7-2 decision to Izzy Moreno (Northern Iowa). Fenton won by medical forfeit over Brice Coleman of Indian Hills CC to earn a fifth-place finish.

Drake Rhodes cruised to the finals, defeating his first four opponents via a trio of technical falls and a decision, winning by a combined score of 66-16. In his finals matchup with Northern Iowa’s Jack Thomsen, Rhodes dropped a tight 9-8 decision.

Will Carano needed only :43 seconds to pin Luke Battaglia (Loras College) in his opening match of the day. Carano then won a 16-1 tech. fall over Cornell College’s Austin Wilkins and a 7-3 decision against Caden Schmidt of Iowa State to put himself into the finals. UNI’s Nick Fox won by a decision over Carano, 7-2, as the Hawkeye finished in second.

Easton Fleshman, wrestling unattached, finished in second at heavyweight. Fleshman made his way to the finals with three decisions – Guyon Cyprian (UW Oskosh), Xavier Bruening (Iowa State) and Jason Guadarrama (UW Parkside) – and a pin over University of Dubuque Wrestling club’s Kevin Machado (1:12). In his finals matchup with Nathan Schon of Iowa State, Fleshman lost a 10-6 decision.

Kale Petersen – 133 Pounds – Second Place
Kale Petersen (Iowa) tech. fall Justin Bradford (Indian Hills CC), 20-4
Kale Petersen (Iowa) pinned Ryan Lobato (Grandview), 1:33
Kale Petersen (Iowa) major dec. Conner Nevin (Upper Iowa), 13-1
Ben Bast (Unattached) pinned Kale Petersen (Iowa), 2:38

Charles Matthews – 141 Pounds
Troy Dolphin (UW Parkside) dec. Charles Matthews (Iowa), 10-9
Charles Matthews (Iowa) dec. Julian Marrufo (York ), 10-3
Charles Matthews (Iowa) dec. Hector Holguin (York ), 4-1 SV1
Charles Matthews (Iowa) major dec. Damon Huston (Iowa State), 12-4
Drew Woodley (Iowa State) tech. fall Charles Matthews (Iowa), 15-0

Cade Siebrecht – 149 Pounds – Second Place
Cade Siebrecht (Iowa) tech. fall Garrett Head (Indian Hills CC), 17-2
Cade Siebrecht (Iowa) dec. Abel Gaitan (Grandview), 5-4
Cade Siebrecht (Iowa) dec. Chase Fiser (Loras College), 6-5 TB2
Carter Fousek (Iowa State) dec. over Cade Siebrecht (Iowa), 4-1 SV1

Carter Martinson – 157 Pounds – Third Place
Carter Martinson (Iowa) tech. fall Jacob Hinkle (Loras College), 16-0
Carter Martinson (Iowa) pinned. Joshua Zeman (St. Ambrose), 2:02
Cody Goebel (Wisconsin) dec. Carter Martinson (Iowa), 9-8
Carter Martinson (Iowa) dec. Collin Altensey (Upper Iowa), 7-4
Carter Martinson (Iowa) dec. Kavan Troy (Northern Illinois), 9-8
Carter Martinson (Iowa) DQ. Cody Goebel (Wisconsin)

Carson Martinson – 165 Pounds – Unattached
Izzy Moreno (Northern Iowa) major dec. Carson Martinson (UNA-Iowa), 9-1
Dajun Johnson (Unattached) dec. Carson Martinson (UNA-Iowa), 4-2

Isaiah Fenton – 165 Pounds – Fifth Place – Unattached
Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa) dec. Clay Schemmel (Cornell College), 2:47
Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa) dec. Scott Burke (Unattached), 20-5
Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa) dec. over Ben Faber (Loras College), 7-1
Jack Thomsen (Northern Iowa) tech. fall Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa), 17-1
Izzy Moreno (Northern Iowa) dec. Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa), 7-2
Isaiah Fenton (UNA-Iowa) MFF Brice Coleman (Indian Hills CC)

Drake Rhodes – 165 Pounds – Second Place
Drake Rhodes (Iowa) tech. fall Bryce Dodge (Iowa Central CC), 18-2
Drake Rhodes (Iowa) tech. fall Aiden Cartwright (Loras College), 17-2
Drake Rhodes (Iowa) dec. Connor Euton (Iowa State), 12-8
Drake Rhodes (Iowa) tech. fall Brice Coleman (Indian Hills CC), 19-4
Jack Thomsen (Northern Iowa) dec. Drake Rhodes (Iowa), 9-8

Will Carano – 174 Pounds – Second Place
Will Carano (Iowa) pinned Luke Battaglia (Loras College), 0:42
Will Carano (Iowa) tech. fall Austin Wilkins (Cornell College), 16-1
Will Carano (Iowa) dec. Caden Schmidt (Iowa State), 7-3
Nick Fox (Northern Iowa) dec. Will Carano (Iowa), 7-2

Aidan McCain – 184 Pounds – Unattached
Tate Naaktgeboren (Iowa State) pinned Aidan McCain (UNA-Iowa), 1:17
Aidan McCain (UNA-Iowa) dec. Landry Barker (Loras College), 19-13
Griffin Luke (Upper Iowa) pinned Aidan McCain (UNA-Iowa), 4:52

Easton Fleshman – 285 Pounds – Second Place – Unattached
Easton Fleshman (UNA-Iowa) dec. Guyon Cyprian (UW Oskosh), 4-0
Easton Fleshman (UNA-Iowa) pinned Kevin Machado (University of Dubuque Wrestling club), 1:12
Easton Fleshman (UNA-Iowa) dec. Xavier Bruening (Iowa State), 5-1
Easton Fleshman (UNA-Iowa) dec. Jason Guadarrama (UW Parkside), 5-0
Nathan Schon (Iowa State) dec. Easton Fleshman (UNA-Iowa), 10-6