"I can’t thank Coach McCaffery and his staff enough for their role in helping me develop on and off the floor. I have had amazing teammates along the way, and I would not be here without them. I want to thank my family for their undying support of me throughout my career. Lastly, thank you to the University of Iowa for changing my life. I am so proud to bring these awards to the University of Iowa for the first time.”

2021 Consensus National Player of the Year, Luka Garza

747 Total Points

NCAA Leader

35.84 PER

Player Efficiency Rating - NCAA Leader


30-Point Games - NCAA Leader

“Winning the Wooden Award means so much to myself and my family. John Wooden was someone my grandfather was friends with, and someone who I was taught a lot about growing up. Winning an award in Naismith’s name is an honor my family and I will always treasure. Naismith changed my life, and so many others, by creating the game that so many love. This is not an individual honor, but rather a team award."

2021 Wooden Award & Naismith Trophy Honoree, Luka Garza


Most points vs. ranked teams since 2019-20 season - NCAA Leader


Iowa All-Time Scoring Leader


straight games with 20+ points (Jan. 10 - Dec. 3, 2020)


Watch Garza

“(Luka Garza) is really good. He’s the real deal. He has gotten better every year. Luka is expected to be one of the best players in the country, if not the best. And you look at the numbers that he’s put up and I think it boils down to one thing is he’s got probably tons more sweat than a lot of the guys have, and that’s something I really have always admired.”

Roy Williams, North Carolina Head Coach (12/7/20)

2021 Accolades

  • Consensus National Player of the Year
  • Big Ten Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year
  • Consensus Unanimous First-Team All-American
  • Senior CLASS Award
  • Big Ten Player of the Year
  • USBWA District VI Player of the Year
  • NABC First-Team All-District Honoree
  • USBWA All-District Selection
  • Pete Newell Big Man of the Year
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year
  • Iowa’s all-time scoring leader (2,306)
  • Ranks second in Iowa’s single-season scoring (747)