Hawkeyes Dominate in B1G/Big 12 Double Dual

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – The University of Iowa rowing team competed in the Big Ten / Big 12 Double Dual on Saturday morning at Wyandotte County Lake. The field consisted of host Kansas and Oklahoma representing the Big 12, as well as fellow Big Ten member Minnesota.

The Saturday sessions consisted of 1V8, 2V8, 1V4, 2V4, 3V8/1N8, 4V8/2N8, and 3V4.

Iowa placed first in six of the seven heats, as 1V8 sealed the top spot after finishing just one second ahead of Minnesota. 2V8 finished a whole five seconds ahead of second place to capture first place in their heat against Minnesota, Kansas, and Oklahoma.

Both V4 teams finished in first place, with 1V4 finishing a whole seven seconds ahead of Kansas who finished in second. 2V4 finished ahead of Oklahoma, Minnesota, and Kansas to capture the fourth win of the day for the Hawkeyes.

3V8/1N8 fell short against Kansas by two seconds to come in second place and 4V8 and 2V8 competed in the same heat with Kansas and Oklahoma. Iowa B finished in first place by a whole 10 seconds. 3V4 anchored todays meet and finished in first place over Kansas to earn Iowa’s sixth first place finish.

The weather featured wild morning winds, starting out at 12mph during the 1V8 and fading to 7mph by the time the races subsided.

The Hawkeyes are back in action on April 21, traveling to Raleigh, North Caroline, for the Lake Wheeler Invite.

“I am extremely proud that our women got to race today. They handled some challenging headwinds today and again added valuable experience to their resumes. To win six out of seven races is a credit to the depth of our roster and the hard work they have all put in this season. Rowing closer to home allowed for our parents to come out in droves and support the squad. Another great day to be a Hawkeye.”

Varsity Eight
1. IOWA (6:59.7)
2. Minnesota (7:01.8)
3. Oklahoma (7:09.2)
4. Kansas (7:23.1)

Iowa: Cara Burns (coxswain), Emma Dabinett, Kassandra McWhorter, Lisa Murphy, Abbey Klostermann, Taryn Lindaman, Molly Shannon, Hailey Mercuri, and Orla Cuffe.

II Varsity Eight
1. IOWA (7:02.86)
2. Minnesota (7:08.84)
3. Kansas (7:09.55)
4. Oklahoma (7:16.27)

Iowa: Ava Parris (coxswain), Molly Rygh, Shae Becker, Laura Bates, Kirsten Jurgensen, Riley Shultz, Elora Fierke, Mackenzie Streveler, and Nina Lawrence.

Varsity Four
1. IOWA (7:40.9)
2. Kansas (7:47.8)
3. Oklahoma (7:58.9)
4. Minnesota (8:11.5)

Iowa: Natalie Maher (coxswain), Claire Wragee, Liz Blewett, Lauren Pearson, and Heidi Hines.

II Varsity Four
1. IOWA (7:50.3)
2. Oklahoma (7:54.1)
3. Minnesota (8:03.5)
4. Kansas (8:05.6)

Iowa: Kimberly Marquez (coxswain), Jaecee Hall, Kendall Tucker, Emma Mask, and Sydney Brands.

III Varsity Eight / I Novice Eight
1. Kansas (7:12.1)
2. IOWA (7:14.3)
3. Minnesota (7:21.3)
4. Oklahoma (7:27.2)

Iowa: Taylor Lee (coxswain), Haley Hayes, Dawsen Dorsey, Katie Jorgensen, Erin Barry, Olivia Taeger, Scarlett Maleham, Ella Grove, and Karire Evans.

IV Varsity Eight / II Novice Eight
1. IOWA B (5v8) 7:22.0
2. Kansas (7:32.3)
3. Oklahoma (7:384)
4. IOWA 7:45.0

Iowa: Olivia Perez (coxswain), Delaney Streveler, Alexandra Eernisse, Isabele Raveling, Molli Larson, Jenna Van Bell, Olivia Smothers, Ava Ashworth, and Marista Fraley.

III Varsity Four
1. IOWA 7:52.3
2. Kansas 7:56.4

Iowa: Halle Lindstrom (coxswain), Emmey Sherbon, Maggie Toennis, Myah Lugar, and Abby Jaynes.