Babineaux, Tate named MVPs

Dec. 11, 2004

IOWA CITY, IA – Senior defensive tackle Jonathan Babineaux and sophomore quarterback Drew Tate have been named co-winners of the 2004 Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for Iowa’s Big Ten championship football team. The announcement came Saturday at the team’s annual awards banquet in Iowa City.

Babineaux was named first team all-Big Ten and had 48 tackles on the season. He ranked fifth nationally and first in the Big Ten in tackles for loss (20.5). He also tied for the team lead in sacks (8), which ranks 27th nationally, and had three fumble recoveries. He was twice (Purdue and Wisconsin) named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week this season. A native of Port Arthur, TX, he has 124 career tackles.

Tate was also a first-team all-Big Ten choice and was named College Football News Big Ten Player of the Year. The Baytown, TX native ranked first in Big Ten passing yards (262.4) and passing efficiency (137.1) and second in total offense (255). He started every game and completed 213 of 343 passes for 2,499 yards and 18 passing touchdowns. He was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week following Iowa’s win over Ohio State.

The Hawkeyes have finished their regular season with a 9-2 record and a 7-1 mark in the Big Ten. Iowa will meet Louisiana State in the 2005 Capital One Bowl in Orlando on Jan. 1. The Hawkeyes have won 30 games over the last three years, more than any other Hawkeye team in a three-year period. In addition, for the first time in school history, the Hawkeyes will be playing in a January 1st (or later) bowl for three straight years.

“There’s not much to say that hasn’t been already said earlier tonight. This is an outstanding group of young men headed by an outstanding group of seniors,” said UI head coach Kirk Ferentz.

“Those who accepted honors tonight and a lot of others who didn’t deserve all the accolades. They’ve earned them.”

A number of other major awards were given out at the banquet.

The Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award went to seniors Babineaux, defensive back Sean Considine and defensive end Matt Roth. The award is given in honor of Iowa’s Hall of Fame coach who retired after the 1998 season. It goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times. Roth, a senior from Villa Park, IL, was named first-team all-Big Ten and was a second team Walter Camp all-American. He had 45 tackles and 14 tackles for loss this season. Considine, a senior from Byron, IL, was honorable mention all-Big Ten and a second team district academic all-American. Considine had 42 tackles and three interceptions this year, despite missing two games due to injury.

Babineaux and Considine were also named winner of the Iron Hawk Award. It is given to a Hawkeye who has given his all during every play for the entire season and has represented his team and school in an exemplary fashion.

Sophomore Drew Tate

Six players share the “Next Man In Award”. On offense, junior guard Brian Ferentz and sophomore running back Sam Brownlee are the winners. Defensively, sophomore backs Miguel Merrick and Marcus Paschal won the award. Special team winners are Charles Godfrey and Andrew Becker. All of the winners of this award replaced a starter who left the lineup with an injury and continued to deliver excellent performances.

Considine and senior offensive lineman Kody Asmus were named winner of the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award. The Award goes annually to a player(s) who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and on the playing field. Both players were academic all-Big Ten and were named to the district academic all-America team.

The 2003 Coaches Appreciation Awards went to nine players. Offensivley, the award went to Tony Jackson, Aaron Mickens, Pete McMahon and Clinton Solomon. Defensively, the honor went to Derreck Robinson, Tyler Luebke and George Lewis. Kody Asmus and Kyle Schlicher won the special team portion of the award.

Senior punter David Bradley was named Special Team Specialist of the Year while linebackers Chad Greenway and Edmond Miles were named winners of the overall Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

The Hawkeye Hustle Awards went to nine players. On offense, the winners are Warren Holloway, Ed Hinkel and Mike Elgin. Defensively, the winners are Chad Greenway, Abdul Hodge, Antwan Allen and Jovon Johnson. Special team winners are Chigozie Ejiasi and Miguel Merrick.

Team Leader Awards were given to offensive linemen Blake Larsen, wide receiver Kennon Christian, defensive lineman Ted Bentler and linebacker Anton Narinskiy. All are freshman, except Larsen, a junior.

Pete McMahon and Ed Hinkel (offense), Babineaux, Considine and Roth (defense) and Bradley (special teams) were named permanent captains for the 2004 season. Hinkel is a junior while the other five are seniors. The six will also serve as captains in this year’s Capital One Bowl on New Year’s Day.

The 2003 Players’ Appreciation Award went to Hawkeye booster Bill Krauss. Bill (and the Krauss family) gave $5 million earlier this year to the Kinnick Stadium renovation project.

The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award went to Senior Director of Development Andy Piro.