King, Johnson Named First Team All-Big Ten

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Dec. 2016

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior defensive back Desmond King and senior defensive tackle Jaleel Johnson have been named first-team All-Big Ten by vote of league coaches.  The defensive honorees were announced by the Big Ten Conference Tuesday on BTN.  Offensive award winners will be announced Wednesday evening.
King was also named first team by vote of Big Ten media, while Johnson was named second-team by the media.  Junior linebacker Josey Jewell, who led the Big Ten in tackles, was named second-team by both coaches and media.
34585Hawkeye defensive players who earned honorable mention recognition include sophomore end Parker Hesse, who was tabbed by both groups, senior cornerback Greg Mabin (coaches) and junior tackle Nathan Bazata (media). 
The Big Ten also announced special teams players who were recognized, with King being named as the second-team return specialist by both coaches and media.  Senior punter Ron Coluzzi earned third-team honors from both groups.
King, a native of Detroit, earned first-team honors for the second straight year.  He recorded 53 tackles and seven pass break-ups, while also collecting two interceptions.  King has 13 career interceptions to tie for fourth on Iowa’s career list.  He previously was named a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award, Bednarik Award, and Lott IMPACT Trophy.
King has handled the majority of kickoff and punt returns for the past two seasons.  He averaged 9.8 yards on 25 punt returns and 27.2 yards on 25 kickoff returns this season, ranking among Big Ten leaders in both categories.  His career-long 44-yard punt return led to a touchdown in Iowa’s 40-10 win over No. 15 Nebraska.
Johnson earned first-team honors for the first time in his career after earning honorable mention recognition as a junior.  The native of Lombard, Illinois, led Iowa with 7.5 sacks and 10 tackles for loss.  His tackle for a safety was a key play for the Hawkeye defense in a 14-13 win over third-ranked Michigan.  Johnson finished the regular season with 54 tackles.
Jewell, a Decorah, Iowa, native, earned second-team recognition for the second straight season.  His 114 tackles tied for the Big Ten lead, and he also led Iowa with eight pass break-ups.  Jewell recorded 10 tackles or more in six of 12 games while leading the team in tackles for the second straight season.
Mabin, who missed the final three games of the season because of injury, earned Big Ten recognition for the first time in his career.  He started 33 games throughout his career, including 29 straight.  Mabin is a native of Fort Lauderdale, Florida, who collected 37 tackles, three pass break-ups, and one forced fumble in nine games.
Hesse earned honorable mention honors from both coaches and media after being named to the league’s freshman team a year ago.  He recorded 33 tackles in 11 games, missing the Iowa State game because of injury.  He also had 7.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, two pass break-ups, and one forced and one recovered fumble.
Coluzzi made the most of his one season with the Hawkeyes.  The native of Naperville, Illinois, joined the Iowa program as a graduate transfer.  He averaged 41.2 yards per punt, with 13 punts of 50 yards or more.  Coluzzi placed 22 of his 68 punts inside the 20 and had just five touchbacks.  Iowa opponents had just 10 returns in 12 games, with 33 Coluzzi punts resulting in a fair catch.
Senior running back LeShun Daniels, Jr., earned Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award, which honors one player from each conference team. Daniels leads Iowa in rushing (198-1,013) and has scored 10 rushing touchdowns.  He is the first Hawkeye to surpass 1,000 rushing yards in a season since 2011.  The native of Warren, Ohio, has 1,843 career rushing yards.  He is a two-year member of Iowa’s Leadership Group.
Iowa (8-4, 6-3) will learn its bowl destination on Sunday, Dec. 4.  The Hawkeyes are ranked in both the Associated Press (22) and coaches (25) national rankings after winning their final three games of the regular season.