Hawkeyes Complete Historic Weekend with 3 More Records

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – University of Iowa track and field broke three more school records on Saturday afternoon, with senior Alli BookinNosbisch running a 2:03.42 and junior Rivaldo Marshall clocking a 1:46.86 in their respective 800-meter races. Freshman Daniela Wamokpego completed a record-breaking day with her triple jump title and 13.24-meter (43’ 5.25”) school record. 

In total, the Hawkeyes set six school records over the weekend:

  • Lia Love – Women’s 60m (7.24)
  • Kalen Walker – Men’s 60m (6.52)
  • Kalen Walker – Men’s 60m (6.51)
  • Alli Bookin-Nosbisch – Women’s 800m (2:03.42)
  • Rivaldo Marshall – Men’s 800m (1:46.86)
  • Daniela Wamokpego – Women’s Triple Jump (13.24m | 43’ 5.25”)

“This was an amazing weekend for our program and probably ranks up there as one of the best in Iowa Track and Field history considering the number of school records and all-time bests we had,” Iowa Director of Track and Field Joey Woody said.

After setting the program’s best time at the Meyo Invite last weekend, Bookin-Nosbisch improved her best by nearly one second at the Tyson Invitational. The Ottumwa, Iowa, native now holds the Big Ten’s second-fastest and nation’s 11th-fastest time.

Bookin-Nosbisch was the third collegian to finish the race. She entered the day ranked 24th in the NCAA and has moved within striking distance of qualification for the national meet. 

Shortly after, Marshall shattered Iowa’s 800-meter record with a 1:46.86. He surpassed Carter Lilly’s time of 1:47.33 from 2017. Marshall’s return to competition catapulted him to fourth in the country and he would finish the weekend with the Big Ten’s fastest time.

Much like yesterday’s record-setting performances by sprinters Lia Love and Kalen Walker in Lubbock, Bookin-Nosbisch and Marshall rewrote the record books within minutes of each other. 

In a loaded field, Wamokpego improved her previous best and set the new school record on her final jump. The freshman from Meaux, France, jumped to 10th place in the NCAA after taking the late lead in the competition.

Further updates were made to the top-ten lists, with senior Grace BookinNosbisch entering as the seventh-fastest Hawkeye following her 2:07.21 personal best. Sophomore Ryan Schreiner (1:48.42) and senior Nick O’Connor (1:48.73) moved to fifth and seventh all-time, respectively.

In Lubbock at the Jarvis Scott Open, the Hawkeyes notched personal records from senior Gratt Reed (20.82) and freshman Miles Granjean (21.50) in the 200-meter dash. Sophomore Ellie Rickertsen (25.80) and freshman Ali Frandsen (26.23) also set career bests in the 200 to wrap up their weekend in West Texas.

“Seeing the 60 and 800 records fall for both the men and the women was awesome. Then to see a big jump on her last attempt to finish a great overall series from Daniela was impressive. “For Rivaldo to run 1:46 and break the record in only his second race of the season shows how great of a competitor he is. Alli continues to be consistent and improving every week no matter the event. She’s just scratching the surface of what she can run this year. I am proud of our team and how we continue to improve every week. We are definitely firing on all cylinders at the right time of the season. The exciting thing is that we have a lot more in the tank and we know that.”

Iowa concludes its indoor regular season on Feb. 16, hosting the Iowa Open at the Hawkeye Indoor Track Facility. The Hawkeyes are also scheduled to compete at the Arkansas Qualifier in Fayetteville on Feb. 16 and the Alex Wilson Invite in South Bend, Indiana, on Feb. 17.

Jarvis Scott Open
Women’s 200m
68. Ellie Rickertsen – 25.80, PR
81. Ali Frandsen – 26.23, PR

Women’s 200m Invite
8. Paige Magee – 23.62
18. Julia Pattison – 24.11

Men’s 200m
7. Miles Granjean – 21.50, PR

Men’s 200m Invite
3. Gratt Reed – 20.82, PR + 4th at Iowa

Tyson Invite
Women’s 200m
27. Alex Edison – 24.17
35. Olicia Lucas – 24.55
39. Mariel Bruxvoort – 24.67
49. Audrey Biermann – 24.94
53. Laney Fitzpatrick – 25.52

Men’s 200m
23. DeAndre Stapleton Jr. – 21.50
33. Connor Belken – 21.77
46. Evan Schuster – 22.66

Women’s 800m
5. Alli Bookin-Nosbisch – 2:03.42, school record
12. Grace Bookin-Nosbisch – 2:07.21, PR + 7th at Iowa
18. Katie Moore – 2:12.41
20. Clare Pitcher – 2:12.71

Men’s 800m
2. Ryan Schreiner – 1:48.42, PR + 5th at Iowa
4. Nick O’Connor – 1:48.73, PR + 7th at Iowa
9. Brett Wasick – 1:51.60, PR
23. Derek Leicht – 1:53.60

Men’s 800m Invite
1. Rivaldo Marshall – 1:46.86, school record

Women’s 4×400
6. Biermann, Perry, A. Bookin-Nosbisch, Dorn – 3:38.24
7. Bruxvoort, Lucas, Cortez, Itson – 3:40.32
13. Roberts, G. Bookin-Nosbisch, Moore, Fitzpatrick – 3:48.52

Men’s 4×400
6. Miller, Belken, Pugh, Marshall – 3:07.56
13. Jefferson, Fingalsen, Schreiner, Holmes – 3:12.31
18. Schuster, O’Connor, Wasick, Leicht – 3:19.58

Women’s Triple Jump
1. Daniela Wamokpego – 13.24m (43’ 5.25”), school record
14. Kayla Hutchins – 12.18m (39’ 11.50”)

Men’s Triple Jump
18. Precious Irivi – 14.55m (47’ 9”)

Windy City Invite
Women’s 800m
26. Ava Rush – 2:22.08

Men’s 800m
15. Carson Lane – 1:54.58, PR
18. Koby Brackemeyer – 1:55.98

Men’s Mile
22. Yohana Yual – 4:13.97

Women’s Shot Put
5. Kat Moody – 16.07m (52’ 8.75”)