Hawkeyes Finish Fourth at NCAAs

March 18, 2006

OKLAHOMA CITY – The University of Iowa wrestling team finished fourth with 70 points at the 2006 NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City. The Oklahoma State Cowboys won the tournament with 122.5 points. Minnesota was second with 84 points.

Sophomore Mark Perry (174) was awarded the Manuel Gorrarian Award for most pins in the least time. Perry picked up four falls in 15:33.

Senior Ty Eustice (149) was Iowa’s lone representative in the finals, and was defeated by Minnesota’s top-seeded freshman Dustin Schlatter.

With 1:18 left in the first period, Schlatter hit the only takedown of the match to take a 2-0 lead.

Eustice chose neutral to start the second and got in deep on a single leg midway through the period, but Schlatter managed to fight his way out and keep the two-point lead.

Eustice cut Schlatter loose to begin the third period, giving his opponent a 3-0 lead, and was unable to get in on a shot the rest of the way.

The finals were held in front of 16,394 fans. The total attendance for the weekend was 95,501, the second-highest total in NCAA history.

FINAL RESULTSTeam Standings1.  Oklahoma State - 122.52.  Minnesota - 843.  Oklahoma - 80.54.  IOWA - 705.  Cornell - 62
Finals149 - No. 1 Dustin Schlatter dec. No 2. Ty Eustice, 3-0
Third Place174 -No. 3 Mark Perry (IA) maj. dec. No. 5 Michael Patrovich (Hofstra)
Fifth Place157 - No. 11 Derek Zinck (Lehigh) dec. No. 9 Joe Johnston (IA), 9-8
Seventh Place141 - No. 7 Alex Tsirtsis (IA) dec. David Hoffman (Virginia Tech), 4-2 (SV)165 - Daniel Thompson (Citadel) dec. Eric Luedke (IA), 8-3="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="http:>