Hawkeyes Celebrate Season at Banquet

April 22, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa women’s basketball team celebrated another successful season Friday night at its annual team banquet. Numerous individuals were honored while the team looked back on its 22-9 overall record, the best record for an Iowa team in 15 seasons.

The Hawkeyes finished third in the Big Ten with a 10-6 mark and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth-consecutive season. The 2010-11 campaign marked the eighth time in 11 seasons under Head Coach Lisa Bluder that Iowa has been selected for the NCAA Tournament. The Hawkeyes also reached the 20-win mark for the sixth time under Bluder, including each of the last four seasons.

Bluder handed out three team awards Friday night. Redshirt junior Hannah Draxten was given the Coaches Award, sophomore Jaime Printy was named the Most Improved Player, senior Kachine Alexander was named the Best Defensive Player and junior Kelsey Cermak was given the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award for the second year in a row.

Head Strength and Conditioning Coach JC Moreau awarded junior Kamille Wahlin with the Hawkeye Strength and Conditioning Challenge Award. Earlier in the year, Wahlin was named a National Strength and Conditioning Association All-American.

Statistical awards were also given to four student-athletes. Alexander earned the team’s Leading Rebounder award (9.5), while Wahlin was honored with the team’s Leading Assist award (3.8). Printy took home the Leading Free Throw Percentage award (.864) and sophomore Morgan Johnson received the Leading Field Goal Percentage award (.478).

Other award winners were also recognized Friday night. Alexander was named honorable mention All-America by the Associated Press and the WBCA and received the first annual Premier Player of College Basketball Award. She was also named all-Region by the WBCA, first team all-Big Ten and was one of six players named to the Big Ten all-Defensive Team.

Printy was an honorable mention All-American (AP) and a second team all-Big Ten pick.

Along with her NSCA All-American honor, Wahlin was named honorable mention all-Big Ten.

Draxten, Printy, Cermak, Wahlin, Johnson, Trisha Nesbitt, Megan Considine and Kelly Krei were also honored as Academic all-Big Ten selections. Iowa’s eight Academic all-Big Ten picks were the most for any Big Ten women’s basketball team and the most in Iowa school history.

Johnson and Krei also earned Capital One Academic all-District honors during the season.