Four First Place Finishes

April 2, 2006

The University of Iowa men’s track team competed this weekend in the Springtime Invitational at the University of Texas-El Paso. The Hawkeyes took home four gold medals in four field events in the meet that featured competitors from Kansas State, New Mexico, New Mexico State, and UTEP.

Three Hawkeyes qualified for the NCAA regional meet in the shot put. Sophomore Shane Maier won the event with a toss of 60-3.75 and freshmen John Hickey and A.J. Curtis came in second and third with throws of 57-0.25 and 55-6.24, respectively. Senior Tim Brodersen also qualified for the NCAA regional meet with a winning throw of 181-11 in the discus.

Big Ten indoor long jump champion Matty Gorman won that event ith a leap of 25-1.25. Iowa’s other individual gold medal winner was Ryan Jordan in the hammer throw with a distance of 172-6.

Iowa’s next competition is the Mark Messersmith Invitational hosted by the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls next weekend.

MEN'S INDIVIDUAL EVENT RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)200 Meters1. Churandy Martina (UTEP)      21.012. David Chaplin (Iowa)         21.46
400 Meters1. Elias Koech (UTEP) 47.533. Prince Riley (Iowa) 48.505. David Pierre (Iowa) 48.816. Max Milder (Iowa) 49.41
100-Meter Hurdles1. William Dodd (UTEP) 14.834. Brice Wilson (Iowa) 15.616. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 18.15
800 Meters1. Dominic Tanui (UTEP) 1:49.073. Matt O'Hollearn (Iowa) 1:55.56
3,000 Meters1. Patrick Mutai (UTEP) 8:28.745. Brian Rae (Iowa) 9:36.61
400-Meter Relay1. UTEP 39.432. Iowa 40.77
1,600-Meter Relay1. UTEP 3:10.092. Iowa 3:13.90
Long Jump1. Matty Gorman (Iowa) 25-1.255. Aaron Reed (Iowa) 22-5
High Jump1. Mickael Hanany (UTEP) 7-4.53. Jeremy Petsche (Iowa) 6-8.75
Shot Put1. Shane Maier (Iowa) 60-3.752. John Hickey (Iowa) 57-0.253. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 55-6.254. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 53-3.5
Hammer Throw1. Ryan Jordan (Iowa) 172-62. Kale Katt (Iowa) 168-83. Tim Brodersen (Iowa) 167-104. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 164-45. Adam Hamilton (Iowa) 153-116. John Hickey (Iowa) 152-5
Discus1. Tim Brodersen (Iowa) 181-113. Shane Maier (Iowa) 167-104. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 161-16. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 135-0
Javelin1. Alex van der Merwe (UTEP) 221-42. Kale Katt (Iowa) 194-9=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>